Two Cardinal Golfers Named <i>Golfweek</i> All-Americans

June 11, 2008

Complete Release from Golfweek in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

STANFORD, Calif. - Freshman Sihwan Kim and senior Rob Grube each earned yet another All-American award today, as Golfweek released their All-American teams today. Kim was named to the First Team, while Grube earned Second Team honors.

Kim, the 2008 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and a first-team All-Pac-10 honoree, ended the season as the highest nationally-ranked Cardinal golfer, checking in at seventh. He played in every tournament and held the lowest stroke average on the team (71.6) while amassing two even-par and 17 under-par rounds in 38 outings. He notched the team's best low-round with 63 strokes, and tied for a tournament-low 199. Kim finished in the top-10 seven times and the top-25 four times and his best finish came at the CordeValle Collegiate in November when he tied for the individual crown. Also, he took fourth individually at the NCAA Championships. Upon the conclusion of the NCAA Championships, Kim was also named a First Team Ping All-American.

In Grube's final season with the Cardinal, he was awarded his fourth consecutive first-team All-Pac-10 award at the Pac-10 Champi┬Čonships and was also named the Pac-10 Men's Golf Scholar Athlete of the Year. The Pac-10 First Team All-Academic honoree posted five top-10 and five top-25 finishes in his final campaign with the Cardinal, and his best places came at the Pac-10 Championships (T3) and also at the UH-Hilo Invitational, where he tied for second and shot his round and tournament lows of 65 and 199. Grube averaged 72.2 strokes per round, and notched three even-par and 13 under-par rounds. He was a finalist for the Cleveland Golf Byron Nelson Award and the Ben Hogan Award.

This is the third year that Golfweek has determined an All-American team, determined using the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index.

Golfweek All-Americans
First Team
Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Michael Thompson, Alabama
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Jamie Lovemark, USC
Rory Hie, USC
Sihwan Kim, Stanford
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Jorge Campillo, Indiana

Second Team
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Gareth Shaw, East Tennessee State
Russell Henley, Georgia
Adam Mitchell, Georgia
Troy Merritt, Boise State
Billy Horschel, Florida
Zack Sucher, Alabama-Birmingham
Hudson Swafford, Georgia
Rob Grube, Stanford
Ryan Spears, Wichita State