Four Bruins Awarded Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarships

June 12, 2008

UCLA seniors Chris Joseph (Football), Lindsey Pluimer (Women's Basketball), Austin Ramos (Men's Cross Country/Track & Field) and Meghan Schoen (Women's Volleyball) have been named recipients of Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarships for 2007-08. These $3000 awards go to student-athletes with a minimum 3.0 GPA who have also demonstrated a commitment to continuing education, campus and community involvement, and leadership. Since the program began in 1999, the Pac-10 has awarded over $1 million for postgraduate study.

'We congratulate the 2009 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship winners,' Pac-10 Commissioner Thomas C. Hansen said. 'These exceptional young men and women have earned honors in athletics and academics to win these important awards. Their achievements are outstanding, and we salute them.'

The 40 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship awardees become candidates for the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Scholarship. The 'Healthy Minds' scholarship provides $10,000 each to one male and one female student-athlete for postgraduate study. The winners are selected by a Pac-10 committee which includes institutional administrators and a student-athlete member of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. The scholarship winners will be announced in August. Katy Trotter of Stanford and Kal Clark of Arizona State were the inaugural winners of the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Scholarships in 2007.

To be selected for a Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must:

  • Have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent.
  • Be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports. The student-athlete will be evaluated on the basis of all academic work completed at time of selection.
  • Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team. The degree of the student-athlete's athletic achievement will be weighed at least equally with the degree of academic performance.
  • Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission.
  • Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

    2007-08 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship Winners

    Jessica Arnold, women's basketball
    Brandy Collins, women's swimming
    Daniel Marshall, men's track & field
    Lou Maturo, men's track & field/cross country

    Arizona State
    Lindsey Brown, women's swimming
    Ryan Sontag, baseball
    Jason Trulson, wrestling
    Jackie Vasquez, softball

    Zsuzsanna Babos, women's tennis
    Jernej Godec, men's swimming
    Courtney Hooker, women's soccer
    Justin Pollard, men's swimming

    Jennifer Derby, women's lacrosse
    Joanna Gail, softball
    Joey Lucas, wrestling
    Michael McGrath, men's track & field

    Oregon State
    Kyle Bressler, wrestling
    Lauren Denfeld, women's cross country/track & field
    Yuki Lamb, women's gymnastics
    Justin Wagner, men's rowing

    Peter Finlayson, men's water polo
    Aimee Precourt, women's gymnastics
    Josh Zupancic, wrestling
    Jessica Zutz, field hockey

    Chris Joseph, football
    Lindsey Pluimer, women's basketball
    Austin Ramos, men's cross country/track & field
    Meghan Schoen, women's volleyball

    Emily Goetsch, women's swimming
    Richard Gosper, men's swimming
    Matthew Van't Hof, men's tennis
    Michelle Sanford, women's track & field

    Ashley Aratani, women's volleyball
    Jennifer Chang, women's gymnastics
    Andreas Kuharszky, men's tennis
    Carl Moe, men's cross country/track & field

    Washington State
    Brooke Bemis, women's soccer
    Ekaterina Burduli, women's tennis
    Steven Kost, baseball
    Jayson Miller, baseball

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    7:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
      Thu 6/20 | 9:00pm PT

      Airing on:

      • Pac-12 Oregon
      • Pac-12 Network
      • Pac-12 Arizona
      • Pac-12 Bay Area
      • Pac-12 Los Angeles
      • Pac-12 Washington
      • Pac-12 Mountain
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder