Four Huskies Earn Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarships

June 12, 2008

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - University of Washington seniors Ashley Aratani, Jennifer Chang, Andy Kuharszky and Carl Moe are among the 40 outstanding Pac-10 student-athletes who were named recipients of Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarships for 2007-08.

Each $3000 award goes to a student-athlete with a minimum 3.0 GPA who has also demonstrated a commitment to continuing education, campus and community involvement and leadership. Since the program began in 1999, the Pac-10 has awarded over $1 million for postgraduate study.

'We congratulate the 2009 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship winners,' league commissioner Thomas C. Hansen said. 'These exceptional young men and women have earned honors in athletics and academics to win these important awards. Their achievements are outstanding, and we salute them.'

The 40 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship awardees become candidates for the Oroweat 'Healthy Minds' Scholarship. The 'Healthy Minds' scholarship provides $10,000 each to one male and one female student-athlete for postgraduate study. The winners are selected by a Pac-10 committee which includes institutional administrators and a student-athlete member of the Pac-10 Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. The scholarship winners will be announced in August.

To be selected for a Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must:

  • Have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent.

  • Be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports. The student-athlete will be evaluated on the basis of all academic work completed at time of selection.

  • Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team. The degree of the student-athlete's athletic achievement will be weighed at least equally with the degree of academic performance.

  • Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission.

  • Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

    2007-08 Pac-10 Postgraduate Scholarship Winners

    Jessica Arnold, women's basketball; Brandy Collins, women's swimming; Daniel Marshall, men's track & field; Lou Maturo, men's track & field/cross country

    Arizona State
    Lindsey Brown, women's swimming; Ryan Sontag, baseball; Jason Trulson, wrestling; Jackie Vasquez, softball

    Zsuzsanna Babos, women's tennis; Jernej Godec, men's swimming; Courtney Hooker, women's soccer; Justin Pollard, men's swimming

    Jennifer Derby, women's lacrosse; Joanna Gail, softball; Joey Lucas, wrestling; Michael McGrath, men's track & field

    Oregon State
    Kyle Bressler, wrestling; Lauren Denfeld, women's cross country/track & field; Yuki Lamb, women's gymnastics; Justin Wagner, men's rowing

    Peter Finlayson, men's water polo; Aimee Precourt, women's gymnastics; Josh Zupancic, wrestling; Jessica Zutz, field hockey

    Christopher Joseph, football; Lindsey Pluimer, women's basketball; Austin Ramos, men's cross country/track & field; Meghan Schoen, women's volleyball

    Emily Goetsch women's swimming; Richard Gosper men's swimming; Matthew Van't Hof men's tennis; Michelle Sanford women's track & field

    Ashley Aratani, women's volleyball; Jennifer Chang, women's gymnastics; Andy Kuharszky, men's tennis; Carl Moe, men's cross country/track & field

    Washington State
    Brooke Bemis, women's soccer; Ekaterina Burduli, women's tennis; Steven Kost, baseball; Jayson Miller, baseball

  • Categories: