Morrison And Reel Named First Team CRCA/Pocock All-Americans

June 13, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford senior rowers Jessi Reel and Steph Morrison were named to the College Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA)/Pocock All-America First Team, as announced by the CRCA on June 6. The award recognizes the outstanding performances of individual rowers and coxswains at NCAA DI institutions.

Reel and Morrison helped the Cardinal Varsity Eight to its best finish ever in the history of the program, taking second at the NCAA Championships just a few weeks ago and narrowly missing out on their first national championship by nine-tenths of a second.

General Requirements for nominating a student-athlete for CRCA postseason honors are:• The student-athlete must meet all eligibility rules as defined by her institution.
• The student-athlete must have rowed at least 75% of the season's races in the varsity boat (before and including May 18, 2008)
• The student-athlete must be nominated by her institution
• The Head Coach of the student-athlete's institution must be a member in good standing of the CRCA.

Steph Morrison

All-American athletes are selected from those athletes already named First-Team All Region. Criteria considered for selection include: boat performance, nomination rank, coach's comments, individual achievements, and 2k erg score. One coxswain is named to each team.

All-American First Team
Name, Institution

Gabriele Albertaviciute, Ohio State University
Mara Allen, University of California at Berkeley
Jennifer Barnes, University of Minnesota
Liene Bertasjus, University of Southern California
Kelsie Chaudoin, University of Virginia
Karen Colwell, University of Michigan
Anne Cowan, Michigan State University
Jennifer Cromwell, University of Virginia
Tess Gerrand, Yale University
Kristin Haraldsdottir, Princeton University
Ashley Jones, University of Washington
Anna Kendrick, Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Laura Lea Larsen-Strecker, Harvard University, Radcliffe Crew
Steph Morrison, Stanford University
Irena Neffeova, Washington State University
Taryn O'Connell, University of California at Berkeley
Emma Olson, Brown University
Amanda Polk, University of Notre Dame
Jessi Reel, Stanford University
Taylor Ritzel, Yale University
Krystina Sarff, University of Central Florida
Jessica Stage, Brown University
Suzanne Van Fleet, Clemson University

Sarah Wu, Brown University

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network