Men's Golfer Knut Borsheim Earns Pac-10 All-Academic First-Team Honors

June 16, 2008

Men's golfer Knut Borsheim has earned first-team Pac-10 All-Academic honors, the league has announced. Borsheim posted a 3.87 grade point average through the fall of 2007 and helped lead ASU to its eighth Pac-10 title under Randy Lein in April. He posted a 73.35 stroke average this year and was one of just two Sun Devils to compete in all 12 events. His best tournament was the 2008 ASU Thunderbird Invitational on April 11-13, when he finished second with a 2-under 211 (73-68-70) while his best round was a 65 in the second round of the 2007 Alister McKenzie Invitational on Oct. 8.

ASU has now had 21 Pac-10 All-Academic squad first-team selections by 11 players in Randy Lein's 16 seasons, and this year marks the tenth straight year at least one Sun Devil has earned first-team honors. Alejandro Canizares (2004-06), Brett Johnson (2003-04), Nick Manthey (2002-03), Jeff Quinney (1999-2001), Chris Hanell (1995-97) and Todd Demsey (1993-95) were all multiple honorees.

2008: Knut Borsheim
2007: Fredrik Andersson
2006: Alejandro Canizares
2005: Alejandro Canizares
2004: Alejandro Canizares, Brett Johnson
2003: Brett Johnson, Nick Manthey
2002: Nick Manthey
2001: Jeff Quinney, Ryan Whitaker
2000: Jeff Quinney
1999: Greg Padilla, Jeff Quinney
1997: Chris Hanell, Scott Johnson
1996: Chris Hanell
1995: Todd Demsey, Chris Hanell
1994: Todd Demsey
1993: Todd Demsey

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network