Solo Named to U.S. Olympic Squad

June 23, 2008

SEATTLE - Former University of Washington standout goalkeeper Hope Solo was one of 18 players named to the 2008 U.S. Olympic Women's Soccer Team Monday by head coach Pia Sundhage.

Sundhage made her final selections after Solo helped USA to a 1-0 victory over Canada in the 2008 Peace Queen Cup championship game on June 21 in Suwon, South Korea, which ran USA's record to 17-0-1 since Sundhage took over.

Solo played for the Huskies from 1999-2002 and was a two-time All American and four-time All Pac-10 selection, leading the Huskies to the Pac-10 championship in 2000. She is the Huskies all-time leader in shutouts (18), saves (325) and goals against average (1.02).

A Richland, Wash., native, Solo has been a U.S. National Team member since 2000 and has been the starting goalkeeper since 2005. The 2008 Beijing Games will mark Solo's first appearance in the Olympics after serving as the alternate goalkeeper for the 2004 games in Athens, Greece.

The USA will begin play at the 2008 Beijing Olympics on Aug. 6 against Norway in Qinhuangdao, China. The USA will then face Japan on Aug. 9 followed by their final Group G match against New Zealand on Aug. 12.

Another former Husky, Clare Rustad, has received significant playing time for the Canadian National Team this summer and looks poised to be named to their Olympic roster. A defender, Rustad played for the Huskies from 2001-04.

Below is the complete U.S. Olympic Women's Soccer Team Roster (By Position):

GOALKEEPERS (2): Nicole Barnhart (Gilbertsville, Pa.), Hope Solo (Richland, Wash.)

DEFENDERS (6): Rachel Buehler (Del Mar, Calif.), Lori Chalupny (St. Louis, Mo.), Stephanie Cox (Elk Grove, Calif.), Kate Markgraf (Bloomfield Hills, Mich.), Heather Mitts (Cincinnati, Ohio), Christie Rampone (Point Pleasant, N.J.)

MIDFIELDERS (7): Shannon Boxx (Redondo Beach, Calif.), Tobin Heath (Basking Ridge, N.J.), Angela Hucles (Virginia Beach, Va.), Carli Lloyd (Delran, N.J.), Heather O'Reilly (East Brunswick, N.J.), Lindsay Tarpley (Kalamazoo, Mich.), Aly Wagner (San Jose, Calif.)

FORWARDS (3): Natasha Kai (Kahuku, Hawaii), Amy Rodriguez (Lake Forest, Calif.), Abby Wambach (Rochester, N.Y.)

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TOMORROW | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder