Pac-10 Leads the Way With 13 NCAA Team Championships

June 26, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--The Pac-10 lived up to its well deserved billing of 'Conference of Champions' by capturing 13 NCAA titles during the 2007-08 academic year, second-highest total ever for a conference and just one title shy of the all-time record of 14 set by the Pac-10 during the 1996-97 academic year. The Pac-10 total of 13 NCAA titles far outstripped any other conference. The Big Ten was runnerup with five NCAA crowns, followed by the ACC and SEC with four each. It marks the eighth time in the last nine years that the Pac-10 has topped all conferences in NCAA championships won. In addition to the 13 championships, Pac-10 teams posted runnerup finishes 11 times.

The women led the way for the Pac-10 with eight NCAA titles, easily the most of any conference, with the men contributing five crowns also the top figure among conferences. The depth of the Conference was shown by the fact seven different league schools claimed NCAA titles. Only six institutions claimed multiple NCAA titles this year, with four of them Pac-10 schools. Arizona State and UCLA were the only institutions to win three NCAA titles, with Arizona, USC, Penn State and Georgia each claiming two.

Arizona State won titles in softball and both men's and women's indoor track and field, while UCLA claimed titles in men's golf, women's tennis and women's water polo. Arizona captured crowns in both men's and women's swimming, with USC winning women's soccer and women's golf. Single NCAA crowns were won by Oregon in men's cross country, Stanford in women's cross country and California in men's water polo. Not included in these totals are the national championships won by Washington in men's rowing, California in men's rugby and Stanford in women's rugby and synchronized swimming, championships not sponsored by the NCAA.

In addition, Stanford has clinched its 14th consecutive United State Sports Academy Directors' Cup, with the final 2007-08 rankings also showing UCLA (2), Arizona State (4), California (7), USC (13), Washington (22), Oregon (26) and Arizona (27) all ranked in the top 30.

Following are the 2007-08 NCAA championships won by FBS conference members:

Conference	Men/Combined	Women	TotalPacific-10	     5	        8	13Big Ten	             3	        2	5Atlantic Coast	     3	        1	4Southeastern	     1	        3	4Big 12	             2	        0	2Big East	     1	        0	1Western Athletic     1	        0	1
Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder