Dunning, Thompson Included On 75th Anniversary Sun Bowl Team

July 3, 2008

EL PASO, Texas - Former Washington State University football players Drew Dunning and Lamont Thompson were named to the 75th Anniversary All-Sun Bowl Team to commemorate the Association's Diamond Anniversary, Sun Bowl President Joe E. Valenzuela announced recently.

Dunning, a kicker from Issaquah, Wash., tied the Sun Bowl record for most points in a single game by a kicker with 15 in 2001, earning the John Folmer Most Valuable Special Teams Player Award. Dunning went 4-of-4 on field goal attempts and 3-of-3 on PATs. While at WSU Dunning was a two-time All-Pac-10 honoree and garnered All-America honors in 2003.

Thompson, a defensive back from El Cerrito, Calif., was named the 2001 C.M. Hendricks Most Valuable Player after recording 10 tackles, two interceptions and a Sun Bowl-record five pass break-ups in 2001. Thompson, one of only two defensive backs to be named Sun Bowl MVP, recorded 24 interceptions while at WSU, a Pac-10 record, and earned first-team All-America honors as a senior.

The Brut Sun Bowl, the nation's second-oldest bowl game, has had 75 different programs compete in the game, which is more than any other bowl in the nation.

In all, 41 of the 75 teams that have participated in the Brut Sun Bowl over the last 74 years are represented on the squad.

The 75th Annual Brut Sun Bowl is slated for Dec. 31, 2008 at noon (MT) at Sun Bowl Stadium. The Pacific-10 Conference will face either the Big 12 Conference, the Big East Conference or the University of Notre Dame.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder