2007-08 Women's Golf Season in Review

July 9, 2008

*The team finished fifth at the NCAA Championships in Albuquerque, N.M.
*Junior Azahara Munoz won the individual NCAA Championship on a 25-foot birdie in a playoff against UCLA's Tiffany Joh
*Her victory at the NCAA Championships marked her first collegiate tournament win
*The Sun Devils now hold the nation's current longest streak of consecutive NCAA tournament appearance at 17 after Stanford failed to qualify for the first time in 19 years
*Team placed second at the NCAA West Regional in Sacramento and third at the Pac-10 Championships
*Munoz received the Edith Cummings Munson Award which is given to the All-American with the highest GPA
*Munoz and Anna Nordqvist were both named NGCA First-Team All-Americans
*Munoz and Nordqvist were also named NGCA Academic All-Americans, along with sophomore Juliana Murcia
*Munoz's win at the NCAA Championships marked her first collegiate tournament win
*Munoz finished in the top 10, 10 out of 11 appearances this season
*The Sun Devils had two players ranked in the top-10 at the end of the season
*Munoz finished the season ranked fourth by Golfstat and Golfweek
*Nordqvist finished the season ranked sixth by Golfstat and Golfweek
*Sun Devils finished the season ranked 4th by Golfstat and Golf World/NGCA Coaches' Poll and 5th by Golfweek
*Munoz is the first NCAA Champion under 6th year head coach Melissa Luellen
*The team's fifth place finish is their second top-5 finish under head coach Luellen, fourth top-10 and sixth top-20
*Luellen has had 10 All-American honors from six athletes in her six years as head coach
*Nordqvist tied for first at the PING/ASU Invitational but fell in the playoff for the championship
*The Sun Devils had three players finish in the top-10 at the Pac-10 Championships: Nordqvist (2nd), Munoz (7th) and Murcia (9th).

Women's Golf Individual Honors
Individual NCAA Champion: Azahara Munoz
All-Americans: Azahara Munoz (NGCA; Golf World), Anna Nordqvist (NGCA; Golf World)
Edith Cummings Munson Award Winner: Azahara Munoz
All-Region (West): Azahara Munoz, Jennifer Osborn
All-Pac-10: Azahara Munoz (first), Anna Nordqvist (first)
Pac-10 All-Academic: Azahara Munoz (first), Juliana Murcia (first), Anna Nordqvist (second), Liisa Kelo (honorable mention), Jennifer Osborn (honorable mention), Brooke Todare (honorable mention)
ESPN The Magazine District VIII All-Academic First-Team: Azahara Munoz
NGCA All-American Scholar Team: Juliana Murcia, Azahara Munoz, Anna Nordqvist

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder