Locker Named To O'Brien Quarterback Award Watch List

July 17, 2008

FORT WORTH, Texas - University of Washington quarterback Jake Locker has been recognized as one of the top quarterbacks in the country as the 2008 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® (The O'Brien) Watch List was released today by the Davey O'Brien Foundation and its National Selection Committee.

The Watch List spotlights 31 Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A) quarterbacks who will vie for the award honoring the nation's best quarterback for the 2008 football season. In addition to the Watch List, all Football Bowl Subdivision quarterbacks are equal candidates for The O'Brien until semifinalists are selected.

Season tickets and mini-plans to attend Washington football games this season are on sale by calling the Husky Ticket Office at 206/543-2200 or by clicking here.

Locker is one of just three sophomores (based on eligibility) on the list, along with Oklahoma's Sam Bradford and Notre Dame's Jimmy Clausen - both of whom will face Washington this season in Husky Stadium. The UW will also face Watch List honorees Rudy Carpenter (Arizona State), Max Hall (BYU), Marck Sanchez (USC) and Willie Tuitama (Arizona) this season.

Watch List candidates were selected by a subset of the National Selection Committee and approved by the Davey O'Brien Executive Committee. Semifinalists will be announced October 27; finalists November 24. This prestigious award focuses on accomplishments both on and off the field. The Selection Committee is asked to evaluate all candidates on their quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The 2008 winner will be announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN December 11. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

2008 O'Brien Watch List:
Todd Boeckman, SR, Ohio State
Sam Bradford, SO, Oklahoma
Tom Brandstater, SR, Fresno State
Hunter Cantwell, SR, Louisville
Rudy Carpenter, SR, Arizona State
Jimmy Clausen, SO, Notre Dame
Chase Clement, SR, Rice
Chase Daniel, SR, Missouri
Sean Glennon, SR, Virginia Tech
Matt Grothe, JR, South Florida
Max Hall, JR, BYU
Cullen Harper, SR, Clemson
Graham Harrell, SR, Texas Tech
Chase Holbrook, SR, New Mexico State
Kaipo-Noa Kaheaku-Enhada, SR, Navy
Dan LeFevour, JR, Central Michigan
Jake Locker, SO, Washington
Colt McCoy, JR, Texas
Curtis Painter, SR, Purdue
Todd Reesing, JR, Kansas
Mark Sanchez, JR, USC
Riley Skinner, JR, Wake Forest
Rusty Smith, JR, Florida Atlantic
Matthew Stafford, JR, Georgia
Tim Tebow, JR, Florida
Mike Teel, SR, Rutgers
Willie Tuitama, SR, Arizona
Drew Weatherford, SR, Florida State
Pat White, SR, West Virginia
Juice Williams, JR, Illinois
John Parker Wilson, SR, Alabama

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®
The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation had given away over $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit