Gronkowski Named to Mackey List

July 31, 2008

MANHASSET, N.Y.--University of Arizona sophomore tight end Rob Gronkowski has been named to the watch list fot eh 2008 John Mackey Award for the nation's best collegiate tight end.The watch list was released by the Nassau County Sports Commission. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and announced in mid-December.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.Gronkowski, UA's promising big man in the receiving rotation, caught 28 passes as a true freshman in 2007, piling up 525 yards to lead the Wildcats with an 18.8-yard average per catch. He snagged six scoring passes. His yards after catch rate with any UA player in the spread offense, with an ability to break tackles and pull away in the open field.He earned freshman All-America honors from a number of outlets. He's on the list along with fellow Pac-10 players Ed Dickson of Oregon and Logan Paulsen of UCLA.He joins a number of Wildcats on preseason watch lists including UA senior quarterback Willie Tuitama for the Maxwell and O'Brien awards, junior offensive tackle Eben Britton for the Outland Trophy, senior receiver Mike Thomas for the Maxwell Award and sophomore punter Keenyn Crier for the Ray Guy Award. Senior place kicker Jason Bondzio also is expected to contend for the Lou Groza Award.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists seven NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark ('01) of the 2007 Super Bowl Champion Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham ('02) of the Denver Broncos, Kellen Winslow II ('03) of the Cleveland Browns, Heath Miller ('04) of the 2006 Super Bowl Champion Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis ('05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Matt Spaeth ('06) of the Pittsburgh Steelers and the 2007 John Mackey Award recipient Fred Davis of the Washington Redskins.

2008 John Mackey Award Watch ListPLAYER - YEAR -SCHOOLTravis Beckum - SR - WisconsinNate Byham - JR - PittsburghJames Casey - SR - RiceTripp Chandler - SR - GeorgiaChase Coffman - SR - MissouriJared Cook - JR - S. CarolinaJeff Cumberland -  JR - IllinoisEd Dickson - JR - OregonRichard Dickson - JR - LSUJermaine Gresham - JR - OklahomaDan Gronkowski -  SR - MarylandRob Gronkowski	- SO - ArizonaAnthony Hill  - SR - NC StateDarius Hill - SR - Ball StCornelius Ingram - SR - FloridaBranden Ledbetter  - SR - W MichiganJeron Mastrud  - JR - Kansas StTony Moeaki - SR -IowaShawn Nelson - SR - S MissBear Pascoe - SR - Fresno StLogan Paulsen - SR - UCLABrandon Pettigrew  - SR -Oklahoma StDennis Pitta - JR - BYURyan Purvis - SR - Boston CollegeAndrew Quarless - JR - Penn StMike Ragone - SO - Notre DameCody Slate - JR - MarshallKory Sperry - SR - Colorado StSam Wheeler - JR - Virginia TechZeek Zacharie - SR - ULM
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder