Stanford Chosen By Coaches To Defend Pac-10 Volleyball Crown

Aug. 5, 2008

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- STANFORD has been chosen by the league's coaches to win the Pac-10 Volleyball title for the third consecutive season. The Cardinal won their 11th Pac-10 title and reached the NCAA national championship match for the second straight year in 2007. They return three All-Americans including Pac-10 Player of the Year and AVCA National Player of the Year Foluke Akinradewo. Stanford received 90 points, 15 more than second-place UCLA, including nine of the 10 first-place votes.

UCLA claimed the final first place vote and earned 75 points overall. USC and CALIFORNIA, who both reached the NCAA Final Four last year, garnered 68 and 62 points for third and fourth place, respectively. WASHINGTON, which returns two All-Americans, placed fifth with 59 points, followed by OREGON, which collected 51 points.

Rounding out the poll were ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, OREGON STATE and WASHINGTON STATE, respectively.

Once again, the Pac-10 sent three teams to the Final Four (Stanford, USC and CALIFORNIA). It marked the third time in four seasons that the Pac-10 made up three-fourths of the Final Four field. The conference has taken home five of the last seven NCAA titles.

All 10 teams open the 2008 season on Friday, Aug. 29 in tournament play. Two-time defending Pac-10 champion Stanford will travel to Nebraska to face the Cornhuskers, while UCLA will open up against Ohio in the Hawaiian Airlines Wahine Volleyball Classic in Honolulu, Hawaii. USC will take on Texas in the Runza/AVCA College Showcase in Omaha, Neb.

The coaches have correctly picked the Pac-10 champion in 12 of the previous 19 polls. Following are the results of the preseason coaches poll. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams (points 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2, first place voted in parentheses):

1. Stanford (9) 90
2. UCLA (1) 75
3. USC 68
4. California 62
5. Washington 59
6. Oregon 51
7. Arizona 39
8. Arizona State 32
9. Oregon State 31
10. Washington State 18