Sun Devils To Take On Charlotte In Anaheim Classic On Thanksgiving At 6 p.m. PT/7 p.m. MT

Aug. 5, 2008

Anaheim, CA -- ESPN Regional Television, Inc. (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN, announced today the schedule of matchups for the 2008 Anaheim Classic, to be held on Thanksgiving weekend at the Anaheim Convention Center, adjacent to Disneyland. The second-year event will include 12 games in three days, and will be broadcast on ESPN2 and ESPNU.

Arizona State will play 20-game winner from a year ago Charlotte (20-13) in the first round on Thanksgiving (Nov. 27) at 6 p.m. PT/7 p.m. MT on ESPNU. The winner/loser will face the winner/loser of the Providence/Baylor game on Friday at either 9:30 PT or 7 p.m. MT (loser's bracket game).

The 2008 Anaheim Classic field includes eight teams: Arizona State, Baylor, Cal State Fullerton, Charlotte, Providence, St. Mary's, UTEP and Wake Forest. Six of the eight teams earned post-season berths in 2007-08, with Baylor, Cal State Fullerton and St. Mary's selected to the NCAA Tournament, Arizona State and Charlotte playing in the National Invitational Tournament (NIT), and UTEP invited to the inaugural College Basketball Invitational (CBI).

At the Anaheim Classic, each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. In the first round of action, Thursday, Nov. 27, St. Mary's of the WCC will take on UTEP of C-USA; Wake Forest of the ACC will face Cal State Fullerton of the Big West; Arizona State of the PAC-10 and Charlotte of the Atlantic Ten will square off; while Providence of the BIG EAST will close out the competition for the day by taking on Baylor of the Big XII.

The RPIs of Anaheim Classic field last year included six top-100 teams. According, the RPI's were St. Mary's (36), Baylor (43), Charlotte (68), Cal State Fullerton (80), ASU (83), Wake Forest (100), UTEP (102), Providence (112).

'We're pleased to have such a competitive field and outstanding pairings in our second season of the Anaheim Classic,' said Pete Derzis, senior vice president and general manager, ESPN Regional Television.

The two teams that remain undefeated throughout the tournament will face off in a championship match Sunday, Nov. 30 at 10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT on ESPN2. Complete matchups and bracket are listed below.

The Big West Conference will serve as the host for the Anaheim Classic at the 7,800-seat Anaheim Convention Center, which has served the conference for the past eight years as the site of its postseason tournament.

The inaugural Anaheim Classic was played in 2007 with USC defeating Southern Illinois in the championship game, 70-45. USC freshman O.J. Mayo earned Most Outstanding Player honors by averaging 18.0 points per game in the Trojans' three victories.

Tickets to the 2008 Anaheim Classic will go on sale Monday, Aug. 18 at or by calling 714-704-2000. Packages include all 12 games for $75 or single session tickets for $15. Special travel package information can be found by going to

Additional information can be found on the Anaheim Classic Web site at, For more information on Disneyland Resort, visit

ESPN contact: Jenny Zimmerman, at (407) 566-2213 or