Stanford Unanimously Chosen To Defend Pac-10 Volleyball Crown

Aug. 6, 2008

Stanford, Calif. - The Stanford women's volleyball team has been chosen by the league's coaches to win the Pac-10 volleyball title for the third consecutive season announced the Pacific-10 Conference today. The Cardinal, which won its 11th Pac-10 title and reached the NCAA national championship match for the second straight year in 2007, returns three All-Americans including Pac-10 Player of the Year and AVCA National Player of the Year Foluke Akinradewo.

Stanford received the maximum 90 points, 15 more than second-place UCLA, and received the first-place votes of each of the league's nine opponent head coaches. UCLA claimed the final first-place vote and earned 75 points overall. USC and California, who both reached the NCAA Final Four last year, garnered 68 and 62 points for third and fourth place, respectively. Washington, which returns two All-Americans, placed fifth with 59 points, followed by Oregon, which collected 51 points. Rounding out the poll were Arizona, Arizona State, Oregon State and Washington State, respectively.

Once again, the Pac-10 sent three teams to the Final Four in 2007 (Stanford, USC and California). It marked the third time in four seasons that the Pac-10 made up three-fourths of the Final Four field. The conference has taken home five of the last seven NCAA titles.

All 10 teams open the 2008 season on Friday, Aug. 29 in tournament play. The Cardinal meets Nebraska in the season opener as part of the Runza/AVCA Showcase at the Qwest Center in Omaha, Neb.

The coaches have correctly picked the Pac-10 Champion in 12 of the previous 19 polls. Stanford has been atop the past three preseason polls and is the first team to be picked unanimously by the other nine coaches since USC did so in 2003.

Following are the results of the preseason coaches' poll. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams (points 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2, first place voted in parentheses):

1. Stanford (9), 90
2. UCLA (1), 75
3. USC, 68
4. California, 62
5. Washington, 59
6. Oregon, 51
7. Arizona, 39
8. Arizona State, 32
9. Oregon State, 31
10. Washington State, 18

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network