UCLA Players Lead Summer Baseball Teams to Postseason Play

Aug. 6, 2008

LOS ANGELES - UCLA left-handed pitcher Rob Rasmussen has helped lead the Orleans Cardinals to the Cape Cod League playoffs, and left-hander Brendan Lafferty and outfielder Brett Krill have helped secure a Northwoods League postseason berth for the Mankato Moondogs.

Rasmussen, a rising sophomore from Arcadia, Calif., has posted a 3.96 ERA and 4-3 record in eight starts for the Cardinals. The left-hander has registered 41 strikeouts and 22 walks in 36.1 innings, allowing Orleans (Eastern Division Champion) to advance to the postseason for the first time since winning the Cape Cod League Championship in 2005.

Rasmussen has totaled five strikeouts or more in six of his eight starts, including a summer-best eight strikeouts against Hyannis on June 27, his second start of the summer. In that outing, the left-hander hurled five scoreless innings, allowing one hit and three walks in a 1-0 victory.

Orleans will play a best-of-three semifinal series, beginning Saturday, Aug. 9. The Cape Cod League's best-of-three championship series is slated to take place from Aug. 12-14.

Lafferty and Krill helped Mankato capture the Northwoods League's North Division first-half title. Currently, the Moondogs are tied for first place with Thunder Bay in the North Division's second-half standings.

Lafferty, a rising senior from Riverside, Calif., earned the start on the mound for the North Division All-Stars in the Northwoods League All-Star Game (July 14). The left-hander has registered a 4.04 ERA and 4-1 record in 35.2 innings, collecting 39 strikeouts and 16 walks.

Krill, a rising sophomore from Laguna Niguel, Calif., has registered a .247 batting average and .358 on-base percentage in his first season playing in the Northwoods League. In 37 games, Krill has scored 16 runs and drawn 14 walks for the Moondogs.

The Northwoods League best-of-three divisional playoffs run from Aug. 12-14. The league's best-of-three championship series takes place from Aug. 15-17.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder