Whiting Leads Men's Selections to USTFCCCA All-Academic Team

Aug. 6, 2008

TEMPE, Ariz. - The United States Track & Field, Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced its annual academic honorees Wednesday for men's NCAA Division I with four members of the Arizona State University track & field program garnering honors, including Ryan Whiting, who was named the 2008 Division I Men's Indoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year.

One of the top throwers in the nation, Whiting won the shot put at the NCAA Indoor Championships with his top mark of 21.73m (71-03.50) not only securing his first national title, but also setting several records. His mark now stands as the school, Pac-10 indoor, NCAA meet and collegiate record.

'Ryan is an outstanding student-athlete,' head coach Greg Kraft said. 'Ryan's approach to his academic rigors is the same as his approach to his athletic rigors.'

Whiting, who earned his second placement on the USTFCCCA All-Academic ledger, was joined by Jason Lewis, Jeff Helwig and Justin Kremer. The honor for Lewis also is his second as both he and Whiting were selected to the national list last year as redshirt freshmen. Combined, the four selections mark the most the men's program has recorded in one year, surpassing the three selections garnered in each of the past two seasons.

Overall, the Sun Devil program earned three top awards and 13 total individual honors from the USTFCCCA. While Whiting was the men's indoor field annual award winner and the first Sun Devil male to earn an individual national academic honor, his event group teammate Sarah Stevens earned the women's indoor field honor one day earlier and led the women to distinction as the 2008 Women's Division I Indoor & Outdoor Track & Field Scholar Team of the Year for the second year in a row.

Individually, Helwig, Kremer, Lewis and Whiting join Stevens, Jacquelyn Johnson, Ali Kielty, Jenna Kingma, April Kubishta, Dominique' Maloy, Lissa Regets, Angela Spadafino and Alana Waterford as All-Academic honorees this year. Combined, the Sun Devils had 13 total student-athletes attain All-Academic honors in 2008, matching the total accumulated last year (10 women and three men). Since the USTFCCCA began its current honors system in 2006 (three track seasons and two cross country seasons), 25 different Sun Devils have combined to earn 43 placements on the Association's All-Academic team.

To be eligible for academic honors from the Association as an individual, a student-athlete must carry a cumulative GPA of 3.25 or higher and either have recorded a mark to automatically or provisionally qualify her for the NCAA Indoor Championships OR have recorded a mark to qualify for the NCAA Region Championships (or national meet in the 10,000m run and heptathlon).

2008 USTFCCCA Division I Men's All-Academic Honors
• 2008 Division I Women's Indoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year - Ryan Whiting
• 2008 Division I Women's All-Academic Track & Field Individuals - Jeff Helwig, Justin Kremer, Jason Lewis, Ryan Whiting

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder