Men's Tennis Selected as a 2008 ITA All-Academic Team

Aug. 8, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - The 2007-08 Stanford men's tennis team earned the distinction of being one of 41 teams in the nation to be named a 2008 ITA All-Academic Team. It is the fifth time the Cardinal have earned this honor since its inception in 2002, having previously been selected in 2002, 2005, 2006, and 2007.

Also, six members of the team, juniors Matt Bruch, Blake Muller, and Jeff Zeller, sophomore Richard Wire, and freshmen Greg Hirshman and Ted Kelly were selected as 2008 ITA Scholar-Athletes. Wire, Zeller and Bruch are repeat members, as Wire and Zeller were both chosen last year, while Bruch earned honors in 2006. Bruch, Muller, and Wire were also selected as second-team Pac-10 All-Academic athletes earlier this year.

Stanford ended the season with a 4-2 loss to Pepperdine in the second round of the NCAA Tournament, their 28th postseason appearance since 1977. The Cardinal finished with a 12-8 regular season record (5-2 in the Pac-10, third place), and a 13-9 record overall.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network