California Men's Soccer Predicted to Repeat as Conference Champions

Aug. 13, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Coming off of back-to-back Pac-10 championships, the CALIFORNIA Golden Bears have been picked to win the Pac-10 men's soccer title for the first time in the nine-year history of the poll, as voted by the league's six coaches. Cal tallied 24 points and four of the six first-place votes.

The Bears, who earned their seventh straight NCAA Tournament bid last year, secured a double-overtime victory over UC Davis in the first round of the 2007 College Cup. Finishing at 12-6-2 (6-3-1, Pac-10), Cal's Kevin Grimes was named the 2007 Pac-10 Coach of the Year, while Andrew Jacobson was named 2007 Pac-10 co-Player of the Year.

The UCLA Bruins, who have made 25 consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances, received one-first place vote, but tallied a total of 20 points for second-place. STANFORD, which also nabbed a top vote, came in at No. 3 with 17 points. WASHINGTON received 13 points for fourth place, followed by SAN DIEGO STATE with 11 points for fifth and OREGON STATE with five points for sixth.

Last season, three Pac-10 teams were selected to participate in the 2007 NCAA men's soccer championship, as California, UCLA and Washington all made their way into the 48-team field. The Conference as a whole posted a 29-20-8 (.579) record against Division I non-conference opponents, including postseason play.

The 2008 Pac-10 men's soccer season kicks off on Fri., Aug. 29, when California, Oregon State, UCLA and Washington all take to the field.

Following are the results of the preseason coaches' poll. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own teams (points 5-4-3-2-1, first place votes in parentheses):

2008 Pac-10 Men's Soccer Preseason Poll

1. California (4) 242. UCLA (1) 203. Stanford (1) 174. Washington 135. San Diego State 116. Oregon State 5

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network