Cheney, DiMartino Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 19, 2008

LOS ANGELES - UCLA women's soccer players Lauren Cheney and Christina DiMartino are two of 47 players who were recently listed on the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List for 2008. The Hermann Trophy Watch List is used to determine potential candidates for national player of the year.

Cheney, a junior forward, was one of three finalists for the award in 2007 after leading UCLA to its fifth straight NCAA College Cup appearance. She is currently in Beijing as a member of the U.S. Olympic Team. DiMartino, a senior midfielder, led the Bruins in assists last year with 12, and is within striking distance of breaking UCLA's all-time assist record of 38.

North Carolina is one of three teams that have three players on the list (including 2006 finalist Yael Averbuch). along with Penn State and reigning NCAA champion USC. Ten other schools have two players each on the list: Connecticut, Florida State, James Madison, Notre Dame, Portland, Tennessee, Texas, UCLA, West Virginia and William and Mary.

Considered the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer, the recipients of the MAC's Hermann Trophy are selected by Division I head coaches who are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. A list of 15 semifinalists is selected by a coaches committee in November, with three finalists announced in early December. They will invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., for a news conference on Jan. 9, 2009, where the winner will be announced, with a presentation banquet following.

Click HERE for the complete Watch List.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network