John Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 19, 2008

KANSAS CITY, Kan. - Washington senior midfielder George John was one of 48 Division I men's soccer players named to the 2008 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced Tuesday. The Hermann Trophy is considered soccer's top collegiate individual honor.

A two-year co-captain for Washington, John is a two-time NSCAA All-Far West Region and two-time All-Pac-10 honoree. He was a first-team All-Pac-10 team member in 2007, helping the Huskies to their second-straight trip to the second round of the NCAA Tournament. John has also excelled in the classroom, earning NSCAA Scholar All-American status last year and is a two-time Pac-10 all-academic selection.

Also included on the preseason watch list are 2007 winner O'Brian White of Connecticut and Pac-10 players Nick Cardenas (San Diego State), Stefan Frei (California) and Kyle Nakazawa (UCLA). Furman's Patrick Murray, Portland's Collen Warner and Charleston's Kareem Yearwood all hail from squads which the Huskies will face this season.

The recipients of the MAC Hermann Trophy are selected by Division I head coaches who are current members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. A list of 15 semifinalists is selected by a coaches committee in November with three finalists announced in early December. They will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., for a news conference on Jan. 9, 2009, where the winner will be announced, with a presentation banquet following.

John is the second-straight Husky named to the list as forward Kevin Forrest was tabbed as a preseason candidate last season. Husky standout C.J. Klaas was a semifinalist for the award in 2003 and 2004.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network