Stanford's Jayne Appel and Kayla Pedersen Named To Preseason Wade Watch List

Aug. 19, 2008

  • WBCA 'Wade Watch' Release

    STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford women's basketball standouts Jayne Appel and Kayla Pedersen were named to the 2008-09 preseason 'Wade Watch' list for the State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced Tuesday.

    Appel's and Pedersen's selections to the list make Stanford one of six schools to be represented by at least two players. Connecticut, with three players selected, leads all schools.

    The Stanford duo also makes up half of the Pac-10's contingent on the 'Wade Watch' list, with California's Devanei Hampton and Ashley Walker making up the remaining half.

    Appel, entering her junior year in 2008-09, comes off a sophomore season which saw her named to the All-Pac-10 First Team after averaging 15.0 points and a team-leading 8.8 rebounds per game. The Pleasant Hill native ranked eighth in the nation last year with a 58.8% shooting percentage, and also broke her own school single-season block total with 84 blocked shots.

    Some of Appel's top performances from 2007-08 included a then-career-best 30-point, 20-rebound effort in an 81-77 overtime victory at Utah on Nov. 18, which was eclipsed by a 33-point effort against Cleveland State in the NCAA Tournament First Round on March 22. On the year, Appel posted 12 double-doubles.

    Pedersen, one of just three sophomores on the list, became Stanford's third Pac-10 Freshman of the Year in the past four seasons after averaging 12.6 points and 8.4 rebounds in 2007-08. The Fountain Hills, Ariz. native wasted no time making her presence felt on the collegiate stage last year, averaging 13.0 points and 13.3 rebounds over the first three games, including a 15-point, 16-rebound performance against then-No. 3/3 Rutgers in Stanford's 60-58 victory in Piscataway.

    Her nine double-doubles on the year, highlighted by a career-best 28 points and 10 rebounds against UCLA on Feb. 2, were a big part in helping Pedersen also earn spots on the All-Pac-10 Third Team as well as the Pac-10 All-Freshman Team.

    Appel and Pedersen will attempt to lead Stanford back to the Final Four after last year's national runner-up finish, as well as attempt to become Stanford's third Wade Trophy winner in program history, following Jennifer Azzi in 1990, and Candice Wiggins in 2008.

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    8:30 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network