Two Stanford Women Included On Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 20, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - Senior Marisa Abegg and junior Kelley O'Hara were included on the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy watch list of 47 of the top women's collegiate soccer players recently released by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Considered the highest individual honor in intercollegiate soccer, the recipients of the MAC's Hermann Trophy are selected by Division I head coaches who are current members of the NSCAA. A list of 15 semifinalists is selected by a coaches committee in November, with three finalists announced in early December. They will invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, Mo., for a news conference on Jan. 9, 2009, where the winner will be announced, with a presentation banquet following.

Marisa Abegg

This is the second season that O'Hara, who was a semifinalist last year, has made the list, while the honor is a first for Abegg.

For more information on the MAC Hermann Trophy including a full list of this years contenders for the award, please visit the NSCAA site and the MAC Hermann Trophy website.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network