John Named Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidate

Sept. 17, 2008

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Washington senior midfielder George John was one of 30 men's soccer players from across the nation selected as a candidate for the 2008 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. The award is given annually to senior student-athletes across nine NCAA Division I sports for excellence both on and off the field.

Student-athletes qualified based on their dedication and achievement in four areas: classroom, character, community and competition. The Lowe's Senior CLASS Award is distinctive from many other honors in that on-the-field performance is only one factor in determining candidacy - a major emphasis is placed on off-the-field commitments and personal character.

From the list of 30 candidates, a national media committee will select 10 finalists for the award in October. Those 10 names from each division will then be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote beginning Oct. 9 and concluding Nov. 19. Fan balloting will be coupled with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award. Winners will be announced during the 2008 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship in Frisco, Texas, Dec. 12-14.

John, a native of Shoreline, Wash., is also on the watch list for the 2008 Missouri Athletic Club Hermann Trophy. The two-year Husky co-captain is a two-time NSCAA All-Far West Region honoree and a two-time All-Pac-10 selection. He was named to the 2008 NSCAA Scholar All-American first-team and has twice been named to the Pac-10 All-Academic team.

John has tallied one goal and one assist this season for Washington, and helped the Huskies to the Diadora/Spinx Furman Invitational title two weeks ago by earning Defensive MVP honors.

John is the second-straight Husky to be considered for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Last year, forward Kevin Forrest was tabbed a candidate and ended up on the Lowe's Senior All-American team. John is one of three Pac-10 players to make the list as he is joined by Oregon State midfielder Ryan Callahan and UCLA forward Maxwell Griffin.

2008 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award - Men's Soccer Candidates
Matt Besler, Defender, Notre Dame
Chay Cain, Goalkeeper, Indiana
Michael Callahan, Midfielder, North Carolina
Ryan Callahan, Midfielder, Oregon State
Stephen Carlson, Defender, Loyola Marymount
Kyle Christensen, Forward, Denver
Sam Cronin, Midfielder, Wake Forest
Dylan Curtis, Midfielder, UC Davis
Doug DeMartin, Forward, Michigan State
Pat Disbennett, Goalkeeper, Saint Louis
Cyrus Eaton, Midfielder, Belmont
Michael Fucito, Midfielder, Harvard
Adam Gartner, Defender, Eastern Illinois
A.J. Glubzinski, Goalkeeper, U.S. Military Academy
Maxwell Griffin, Forward, UCLA
Garret Guthrie, Defender, Missouri-Kansas City
Kyle Hall, Forward, Syracuse
George John, Midfielder, Washington
Matthew Jones, Goalkeeper, Sacred Heart
Benten Kieffner, Defender, Winthrop
Yohance Marshall, Defender, South Florida
Ossie Michalsen, Defender, Akron
Sean Milligan, Goalkeeper, Dartmouth
Kevon Neaves, Midfielder, South Florida
Chris Pontius, Forward, UC Santa Barbara
Brad Ring, Midfielder, Indiana
Karl Schilling, Defender, Connecticut
Dylan Sheehan, Forward, Brown
Zack Simmons, Goalkeeper, Massachusetts
Connor Tobin, Defender, Vermont

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network