Men's Cross Country Takes Big Wave Invitational Team Title

Sept. 20, 2008

Big Wave Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The UCLA men's cross country team dominated the Big Wave Classic in Honolulu, HI on Saturday as the Bruin runners swept the top nine places to win the team title. The Bruins posted a score of 15 points, while Pepperdine was second with 69. Senior Laef Barnes led the way for the men in the 5k race with his winning time of 15:12.16.

Fellow senior Drew Shackleton was second in a time of 15:14.19, while junior Alex Crabill was third in 15:17.82. Junior Marlon Patterson (4th, 15:22.43), junior Marco Anzures (5th, 15:25.90), sophomore Kent Morikawa (6th, 15:32.47) and sophomore Kevin Sullivan (7th, 15:35.20) rounded out the Bruin scorers.

UCLA's final runner, sophomore Jun Reichl, finished nearly 10 seconds ahead of the nearest competitor.

UCLA Individual Results (55 runners)
1. Laef Barnes, 15:12.16
2. Drew Shackleton, 15:14.19
3. Alex Crabill, 15:17.82
4. Marlon Patterson, 15:22.43
5. Marco Anzures, 15:25.90
6. Kent Morikawa, 15:32.47
7. Kevin Sullivan, 15:35.20
8. Mike Haddan, 15:36.89
9. Jun Reichl, 15:39.42

Team Results
1. UCLA, 15 points
2. Pepperdine, 69 points
3. Hawaii Pacigic, 75 points
4. BYU-Hawaii, 107 points
5. Hawaii-Hilo, 126 points
6. George Fox, 166 points
7. Chaminade, 188 points

The Bruins will next head to the Stanford Invitational on September 27th for the first counting meet of the season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder