Three Golden Bears Selected to the 2009 World University Games Roster

Sept. 24, 2008

Berkeley - USA Swimming announced its 26-member roster for the 2009 World University Games in Belgrade, Serbia, on Wednesday and current California women's swimmers, Madison Kennedy, Lauren Rogers and Amanda Sims have qualified for the competition. The swimming portion of the Games will be held July 5-11, while the entire competition of the Games will run from July 1-12, 2009.

Kennedy, Rogers and Sims punched their WUG ticket after all three earned medals at the 2008 U.S. Open Championships, which were held July 29-Aug. 2 at the Minnesota Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn.

Kennedy racked up two medals, including gold in the 50-meter freestyle with a time of 25.22, and silver in the 100-meter freestyle with a time of 55.44.

Rogers earned bronze in the 100-meter backstroke with a time of 1:00.92, while Sims claimed bronze in the 100-meter butterfly with a mark of 59.50.

In past years, the World University Games has been a breeding ground for some of the best swimming talent in the nation. Many Olympic swimmers have at one time been a member of a WUG team, and most recently, the 2007 U.S. World University Games team saw three members all go on to compete in the 2008 Olympics, including recently graduated Olympic silver medalist Emily Silver.

According to USA Swimming bylaws, swimmers on the 2009 World University Games Team roster were selected based upon their performance at the 2008 USA Swimming U.S. Open Championships. All athletes selected for the team must be at least 17 years old and less than 28 years old on January 1, 2009. In addition, athletes selected must be a student competitor who will be officially enrolled in a full-time course of study at an approved institute of higher education prior to the entry deadline, or enrolled as a full-time university student through January 1, 2009. All members of the World University Games team roster are pending final approval by the USOC.

Additional members of the women's team include, Lyndsay DePaul (Orange, Calif.), Katy Freeman (Concord, Calif.), Kristen Heiss (Casper, Wyo.), Michele King (York, Pa.) Chelsea Nauta (Tampa, Fla.), Emily Neal (Plano, Texas) and Morgan Scroggy (Aurora, Ore.)

For the complete team roster, please visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder