Second Ranked Golfers Travel to Vanderbilt Tournament

Sept. 25, 2008

The second-ranked UCLA women's golf team travels to Franklin, TN for the eighth annual Mason Rudolph Championship, hosted by Vanderbilt at the Legends Club.

The Bruins, who finished second nationally last season, will compete against top-ranked USC, No. 3 Duke, fourth-ranked Arizona State and No. 5 Oklahoma State as well as nine other teams ranked in the Top 25. Seventeen teams are in the field and the Bruins are the defending champions, setting a 54-hole tournament record last season with a score of 851 (-13).

'We're looking forward to defending our team title at the Mason Rudolph tournament,' said head Coach Carrie Forsyth. 'Although we have already played one event this fall, the Mason Rudolph is a very strong tournament, and the field has many of the teams we anticipate competing against at the NCAA Tournament next spring. This will be a good challenge for us, and it is a course that is very popular with our players.'

Highlighting UCLA's lineup will be a pair of first-team All-Americans in senior Tiffany Joh and sophomore Maria Jose Uribe. In June, Joh won her second U.S. Women's Amateur Publinks title. Uribe, the 2007 U.S. Women's Amateur Champion, used her U.S. Amateur exemptions to play in all four of professional golf's major championships, and made the cut in three of them.

Junior Sydnee Michaels, sophomore Glory Yang and freshman Stephanie Kono complete the UCLA fivesome. Michaels, the 2006 NCAA West Regional champion, earned All-America honors from GolfWeek and the NGCA last season. Yang, a first-team all-conference selection as a freshman, won her first collegiate tournament in Japan two weeks ago at the Topy Cup. Kono, a former AJGA All-American, was considered the nation's top recruit of 2008.

Competition at the Mason Rudolph Championship begins Fri., Sept. 26 and continues through Sun., Sept. 28. The Legends Club will play to a par of 72 over 6,217 yards.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder