Legends Classic Field Announced; Tickets on Sale

Sept. 28, 2008

PRINCETON, N.J. - Defending Big East Champion Pittsburgh, Texas Tech, Mississippi State and Washington State have been announced as the four regional hosts for the 2008 Legends Classic, the Gazelle Group announced.

The tournament will tip-off with games November 18-22 at the regional sites and will conclude with the championship rounds at the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J. on November 28th and 29th.

The four regional hosts advance to the championship rounds at Prudential Center regardless of the regional results. The other participants will advance to play a round-robin series at Fairleigh Dickinson's Rothman Center on November 28, 29 & 30.

Championship round tickets to the Legends Classic are officially on sale. Tickets may be purchased through www.ticketmaster.com, at the Prudential Center Box Office or through the WSU athletics ticket office.

The Prudential Center is the first new, state-of-the-art facility built in the New York/New Jersey metropolitan area in over 25 years. It is the home of the NHL's New Jersey Devils, NCAA Division I Seton Hall men's basketball and indoor soccer's New Jersey Ironmen.

The Legends Classic is produced by The Gazelle Group in Princeton, N.J. The Gazelle Group is a sports marketing firm specializing in event production and management, client representation, and sponsorship consulting. Gazelle produces numerous nationally-recognized events, such as the 2K Sports Classic benefiting Coaches vs. Cancer, the O'Reilly Auto Parts CBE Classic and the College Basketball Invitational. For more information on The Gazelle Group, please visit the website at gazellegroup.com.

About the other regional hosts:
Pittsburgh, the reigning Big East Champions, are among the Top 5 programs in the country in overall winning percentage (.789) over the last seven years. They have a Big East-best 81-33 conference record during that stretch. The Panthers are the only Big East team to appear in each of the last seven NCAA Tournaments, making the Sweet 16 on four occasions.

Texas Tech has four starters returning for head coach Pat Knight, in his first full season at the helm of the Red Raiders.

Mississippi State has made the post-season in six of the last eight seasons. All six seasons are 20-win campaigns.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder