Men's Cross Country Has Strong Showing At Bill Dellinger Invite In Oregon

Oct. 4, 2008

Senior Drew Shackleton and the men's cross country team had a strong showing on Saturday at the Bill Dellinger Invitational in Eugene, Ore as the Bruins placed fourth overall as a team. Oregon won the team title with 49 points, while UCLA posted a score of 106 points.

Shackleton took over the No. 1 position for UCLA on Saturday as he finished 17th (24:42) to lead all runners. Fellow senior Laef Barnes finished a few spots behind Shackleton in 19th-place (24:47), while senior Mike Haddan (23rd, 24:53), junior Marlon Patterson (25th, 24:54) and sophomore Kent Morikawa (25th, 24:58) rounded out the top-five runners for the Bruins.

'There was a 17-second spread between our first and sixth runners, and that is pretty impressive to me,' said head coach Eric Peterson. 'It is one of the strongest team efforts that I've ever seen as a coach for the past seven years.

'We were sorry to be without junior Alex Crabill, but I was very pleased with how Mike, Marlon, Kent and Marco Anzures all stepped forward and ran their tails off. We felt coming in that we were a good team, and today's performance confirmed that.

'We have set high goals for this team and we all feel that we are committed to achieving those goals. Today was a great experience for this team because it was in the high 50's temperature-wise, it was raining off and on, and the course was soggy. If you compare this year's times across the board for all runners to last year's race, you can see a 35 to 50 second slow down. All of those facts indicate that our team is going in the right direction.'

Both the men's and women's teams will have next weekend off before heading to the Pre-NCAA Invitational in Terre Haute, IN in two weeks.

Team Results
1. Oregon, 49
2. Portland, 56
3. Alabama, 62
4. UCLA, 106
5. Cal Poly SLO, 144
6. Weber State, 158
7. UTEP, 166
8. Colorado State, 186
9. Penn State, 221

UCLA Individual Results (73 total runners)
17. Drew Shackleton, 24:42
19. Laef Barnes, 2447
23. Mike Haddan, 24:53
25. Marlon Patterson, 24:54
27. Kent Morikawa, 24:58
29. Marco Anzures, 24:59
59. Kevin Sullivan, 25:58
65. David McDonald, 26:08
71. Jun Reichl, 27:17

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network