Cougars Conclude Head of the Oklahoma Racing with Four Top-Three Finishes Sunday

Oct. 5, 2008

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The Washington State University rowing team concluded competition at the Head of the Oklahoma on a windy day Sunday, as it placed all four of its women's open pairs boats in the top six and both of its women's collegiate four boats in the top three in competition held at the Oklahoma River.

'We got better as the weekend went on, and that's all you can hope for at the beginning of the season,' Washington State Head Coach Jane LaRiviere said.

In the Cougars' final race of the competition, the A and B crews placed second and third in the women's collegiate four event. The WSU A boat of Justine Galbraith, Natasha Ostopovich, Phillippa Summerville, Sarah Powell and Corina Chilibeck (cox) finished nine seconds behind the University of Miami B boat with a time of 16:00.967.

WSU's B boat of Danya Levesque, Michelle Mindemann, Erika Jorgensen, Christina Kinck and Lexi Ryman (cox) finished third, clocking a time of 16:14.709.

Earlier in the day, the WSU A pair comprised of Kyann Martin and Erica Lewis placed second in the open pairs race with a time of 17:15.097, followed closely by the D crew of Annie Eastwood and Tereza Kocianova in third with a time of 17:16.811.

The Cougars also came in fifth and sixth in the race as WSU's C pair of sisters Karin and Amy Brevick clocked a time of 17:51.86 and the duo of Lauren Johnson and Monica Teague recorded a time of 17:56.207.The University of Texas's B pair won the race, while it's E pair came in fourth between Washington State boats.

In Saturday's competition, the Cougars finished second and fifth, respectively, in the women's collegiate eight NightSprint Grand Final. WSU also placed three of its four boats in the top four of the women's open four event.

The Cougars continue their Fall season as they head North to Spokane to compete in the Head of the Spokane hosted by Gonzaga, Oct. 25.

2008 Head of the Oklahoma Results - Sunday, Oct. 5
Women's Open Pairs
1. University of Texas B (17:01.973), 2. WSU A (17:15.097) (Kyann Martin, Erica Lewis), 3. WSU D (17:16.811) (Annie Eastwood, Tereza Kocianova), 4. University of Texas E (17:40.537), 5. WSU C (17:51.86) (Karin Brevick, Amy Brevick), 6. WSU B (17:56.207) (Lauren Johnson, Monica Teague), 7. University of Texas G (18:07.947), 8. Oklahoma City University A (18:29.357), 9. University of Texas J (18:57.331), 10. University of Texas C (19:36.353), 11. Oklahoma City University B (20:00.303), 12. Tulsa Rowing Club A (20:26.779), 13. The University of Oklahoma A (21:03.731)

Women's Collegiate Four
1. University of Miami B (15:51.753), 2. WSU A (16:00.967) (Justine Galbraith, Natasha Ostopovich, Phillippa Summerville, Sarah Powell, Corina Chilibeck - cox), 3. WSU B (16:14.709) (Danya Levesque, Michelle Mindemann, Erika Jorgensen, Christina Kinck, Lexi Ryman - cox), 4. University of Texas B (16:28.097), 5. University of Texas A (16:56.941), 6. University of Central Oklahoma A (18:05.643), 7. Oklahoma City University A (18:13.307), 8. Oklahoma City University A (18:13.307), 9. University of Central Oklahoma B (20:13.881), 10. Creighton Rowing Association A (20:35.569), 11. Kansas State A (20:59.287)

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder