Sun Devil Wrestling Set to Hold Wrestle-Offs This Week in Tempe

Oct. 20, 2008

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State University wrestling team will hold its annual Maroon & Gold Wrestle-Offs this week at the Riches Wrestling Complex on campus as the Sun Devils prepare to open the 2008-09 campaign, the 47th varsity season in program history. The wrestle-offs, which will be part of the Alumni Weekend festivities for the program, will come exactly two weeks before the Sun Devils open their dual schedule on November 8. Saturday’s competitions will start at 10 a.m. and is slated to feature 12 bouts.

Former Sun Devil All-Americans and current up-and-coming MMA (mixed martial arts) stars Ryan ‘Darth’ Bader and C.B. ‘The Doberman’ Dollaway will once again serve as the coaches for the wrestle-offs on Saturday. ‘Darth’ is currently competing in the light heavyweight division on UFC’s The Ultimate Fighter reality series while ‘The Doberman’ continues to train for more UFC fights after finishing as the runner-up on the previous season of TUF.

The wrestle-off competitions will start on Thursday at the Riches Wrestling Complex with preliminary bouts. A four-man tournament will be used to determine the challenger at 133 with Tyler Bowles, Alan Howard, Angel Alegre and Steven Contino all looking to advance to Saturday where the winner will face Orlando Jimenez. The 157 weight class also has a mini tournament in place with Lucas Mariacher, Jerrad Trulson, Preston Pruett, Josh Calteux and Michael Swigart battling for the starting job. While the first four will hold a mini tournament to determine who will face Swigart for the starting job, Swigart will take on Te Edwards in an exhibition bout (Swigart was awarded the berth into Saturday’s final based on a coin toss for all entrants at 157). The final preliminary bout will be at 197 with the winner of the Nick Williams vs. Jeff Cappellini bout meeting Thor Moen on Saturday.

Saturday will feature 10 battles for the starting nod along with two exhibition bouts. Anthony Robles and David Prado will meet for the starting spot at 125 while Ben Ashmore and newcomer Jason Carrillo will wrestle an exhibition bout at 125 afterwards. The winner of the Bowles/Howard vs. Alegre/Contino bouts on Thursday will then take on Jimenez at 133 before Chris Drouin and Travis Forester meet at 141. At 149, junior college transfer Tony Ruiz will take on redshirt freshman Vicente Varela before Swigart faces the winner of the 157 mini tournament. Kyle DeBerry will meet Sal Musto at 165 before Eric Starks and Emilio Veramontes face one another at 174. Jake will be the starter at 184, but which one will be determined as Jake Cranford and Jake Meredith meet before Moen takes on the winner of the Williams/Cappellini bout. In the second exhibition of the day, Michael Hawkins will meet Anthony Morales at heavyweight before the starter is determined for the weight class as Erik Nye faces Imanibom Etukeren.

Following the wrestle-offs on Saturday, there will be a Wrestling Alumni Tailgate prior to the football team’s game against Oregon inside Sun Devil Stadium. The tailgate will begin at 5 p.m. and will end at kick-off of the game. The tailgate will be located in the North Reserve parking lot (spaces 1075-1077), which is about 100-feet south of the intersection of Rio Salado Parkway and Packard Drive. Those interested in also attending the game following the tailgate should contact the wrestling office and head coach Thom Ortiz for tickets (cost is $30). Maps to the tailgate will be made available at the Riches Wrestling Complex during the wrestle-offs on Saturday.

The Sun Devils will open their 2008-09 campaign on Saturday, November 8, when ASU takes on Pac-10 foe UC Davis at 7 p.m. inside Mesa High School.

2008 Arizona State University Wrestle-Offs
Thursday, October 23 (3:30 p.m.)
133a - Tyler Bowles vs. Alan Howard
133b - Angel Alegre vs. Steven Contino
157a - Lucas Mariacher vs. Jerrad Trulson
157b - Preston Pruett vs. Josh Calteux
157x - Michael Swigart vs. Te Edwards
197a - Jeff Cappellini vs. Nick Williams
133c - Winner of 133a vs. Winner of 133b
157c - Winner of 157a vs. Winner of 157b

Saturday, October 25 (10:00 a.m.)
125a - David Prado vs. Anthony Robles
125x - Ben Ashmore vs. Jason Carrillo
133d - Winner of 133c vs. Orlando Jimenez
141a - Chris Drouin vs. Travis Forester
149a - Tony Ruiz vs. Vicente Varela
157d - Michael Swigart vs. Winner of 157c
165a - Sal Musto vs. Kyle DeBerry
174a - Eric Starks vs. Emilio Veramontes
184a - Jake Cranford vs. Jake Meredith
197b - Winner of 197a vs. Thor Moen
285x - Michael Hawkins vs. Anthony Morales
285a - Erik Nye vs. Imanibom Etukeren
first wrestler listed is on Team Bader and second is on Team Dollaway

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder