Caligiuri, Friedel Selected To NCAA Men's Soccer 50th Anniversary Team

Oct. 23, 2008

UCLA and USA soccer legends Paul Caligiuri and Brad Friedel have been selected to the NCAA Division I Men's Soccer 50th Anniversary team.

A list of more than 100 student-athletes and 10 head coaches was narrowed down to 32 and six, respectively, through a voting subcommittee. The finalists were then put on an online ballot and voted on by the public through

Friedel led UCLA to the 1990 NCAA title as a freshman, posting shutout victories in penalty kicks on consecutive days in the College Cup. Friedel was named the Soccer America Freshman of the Year and went on to earn All-America honors as a sophomore and the Hermann Trophy and ISAA Goalkeeper of the Year honors as a junior. He still holds UCLA's school record for career GAA (0.60). Considered one of the best goalkeepers in the world, Friedel recorded 82 international caps for the U.S. National team and participated in two Olympics (1992 and 2000) and three World Cups (1994, 1998 and 2002). He played a major role in leading the 2002 U.S. World Cup team into the quarterfinals, its best showing in 72 years. He currently plays for Aston Villa in the English Premier League, and while playing with the Blackburn Rovers in 2002, he became the first American player picked for the English Premier League team of the year.

Paul Caligiuri

Caligiuri was a two-time NSCAA All-American (1985 and 1986) and the 1986 Soccer America Player of the Year. He led UCLA to the 1985 NCAA title, the program's first-ever in soccer. Caliguiri followed his successful collegiate career with a legendary career as a member of the U.S. National Team. In the 1990 CONCACAF World Cup Qualifying Tournament, he scored the historic goal against Trinidad & Tobago that earned the U.S. a World Cup berth for the first time in 40 years. His goal is known as 'The Goal Heard Round The World.' Caligiuri played in the 1990 and 1994 World Cups, as well as the 1988 Olympics, and logged 114 caps with the U.S. National Team. He is a member of the National Soccer Hall of Fame.

The 11 student-athletes who make up the NCAA Division I Men's Soccer 50th Anniversary team are: Jeff Agoos, Virginia; Armando Betancourt, Indiana; Paul Caligiuri, UCLA; Richard Chinapoo, Long Island; Angelo DiBernardo, Indiana; Brad Friedel, UCLA; John Harkes, Virginia; Glenn Myernick, Hartwick; Farrukh Quraishi, SUNY Oneonta; Claudio Reyna, Virginia; and Al Trost, Saint Louis. The NCAA Division I Men's Soccer 50th Anniversary coach is Indiana's Jerry Yeagley.

Members selected to the anniversary team will be honored at the 2008 NCAA Men's College Cup in Frisco, Texas, at Pizza Hut Park on Dec. 12-14.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network