Sanchez, Maualuga Named Semifinalists For Maxwell, Bednarik Awards

Nov. 5, 2008

USC quarterback Mark Sanchez has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, presented to the nation's top college football player, and linebacker Rey Maualuga is among 15 semifinalists for the Bednarik Award, given to the nation's top defensive player.

The announcement of the Maxwell and Bednarik Award winners will be made during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Dec. 11, 2008. Three finalists for each award will be in attendance for the ESPN broadcast. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner to be held on March 6, 2009, at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Voting for the awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Nov. 5 and close on Nov. 23. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

Sanchez has completed 65.2% of his passes (144-of-221) in 2008 for 1,884 yards and 22 touchdowns. He currently is ranked ninth nationally in passing efficiency (163.3) and leads the Pac-10 in both that category and total offense. In his career, Sanchez has thrown 29 touchdowns, with at least 2 TD passes in 8 starts, plus he has at least 3 TD passes in a game 6 times (including 5 outings in 2008) and at least 1 TD pass in all 11 of his career starts. He also is among the 13 semifinalists for the 2008 Davey O'Brien Award (top quarterback).

Maualuga, a 3-year starter at middle linebacker, has made 47 tackles and 2 interceptions in 2008. He also is among 12 semifinalists for the 2008 Lombardi Award. He is a 2-time All-Pac-10 first teamer and was the 2009 Rose Bowl Defensive MVP.

Semifinalists for the 72nd Maxwell Award

Sam Bradford, Oklahoma, QB , So.

Donald Brown, Connecticut, RB, Jr.

Darryl Clark, Penn State, QB, Sr.

Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech, WR, So.

Chase Daniel, Missouri, QB, Sr.

Shonn Greene, Iowa, RB, Jr.

Graham Harrell, Texas Tech, QB, Sr.

Jeremy Maclin, Missouri, WR, So.

Colt McCoy, Texas, QB, Jr.

LeSean McCoy, Pittsburgh, RB, So.

Knowshon Moreno, Georgia, RB, So.

Javon Ringer, Michigan State, RB, Sr.

Zac Robinson, Oklahoma State, QB, Jr.

Mark Sanchez, USC, QB, Jr.

Tim Tebow, Florida, QB, Jr.

Semifinalists for the 14th Chuck Bednarik Award

Eric Berry, Tennessee, S, So.

Terrence Cody, Alabama, NT, Jr.

Zack Follett, California, LB, Sr.

Jerry Hughes, TCU, DE, Jr.

Malcolm Jenkins, Ohio State, CB, Sr.

James Laurinaitis, Ohio State, LB, Sr.

Rey Maualuga, USC, LB, Sr.

Aaron Maybin, Penn State, DE, So.

Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma, DT, So.

Scott McKillop, Pittsburgh, LB, Sr.

Brian Orakpo, Texas, DE, Sr.

Myron Rolle, Florida State, S, Jr.

Brandon Spikes, Florida, LB, Jr.

Vance Walker, Georgia Tech, DT, Sr.

Sean Weatherspoon, Missouri, LB, Jr.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder