Three Pac-10 Players Named to Women's Wooden Preseason List

Nov. 6, 2008

Three Pac-10 Players Named to Wooden Preseason List (PDF) Get Acrobat Reader

  • 'Shootaround with Beth & Debbie: Pac-10 Preview

    LOS ANGELES - Stanford's Jayne Appel, and California's Devanei Hampton and Ashley Walker were three of 30 players named to the John R. Wooden preseason women's basketball watch list, presented to the nation's top collegiate women's basketball player, the Los Angeles Athletic Club announced. All three players are returning first team All-Pac-10 selections, as well.

    The list is composed of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early front runners for college basketball's most prestigious honor. Appel and Hampton are repeats on the preseason list after appearing on the ballot last season.

    'I am pleased to see so many players returning from last season's ballot,' said Richard 'Duke' Lllewellyn, Wooden Award Chairman and founder. '... With all the amazing talent across the country, this is going to be a memorable season.'

    Cal was one of four teams with multiple players named as preseason candidates for the Wooden Award. The Big East's Connecticut had three, with Rutgers and Maryland also receiving two selections.

    In mid-January, the Wooden Award Committee will release the Midseason Top 20 list, followed in March by the national ballot, consisting of approximately 15 top players who have proven to their universities they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 grade point average. The Women's Wooden All-American Team will be announced the week of the 'Elite Eight' round during the NCAA Tournament.

    The 33rd annual Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the announcement of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award, and the presentation of the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will be held at the Los Angeles Athletic Club in April 2009.

    About the John R. Wooden AwardCreated in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables and Larry Bird ('79), Michael Jordan ('84), Tim Duncan ('97), and last year's recipients Kevin Durant of Texas and Candace Parker of Tennessee ('07 and '08).

    Since its inception, the John R. Wooden Award has contributed close to a million dollars to universities' general scholarship fund in the names of the All-American recipients as well as sent over 1,000 underprivileged children to week-long college basketball camps in the awards name. Additionally, the John R. Wooden Award partners with Special Olympics Southern California (SOSC) each year to host the Wooden Award Special Olympics Southern California Basketball Tournament. The day-long tournament, which brings together Special Olympic athletes and the All-Americans, takes place at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on the Friday prior to the John R. Wooden Award Ceremony.

    - -

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    5:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder