Lindsay Taylor Named Pac-10 Freshman Of The Year; Paul Ratcliffe Coach Of The Year

Nov. 13, 2008

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Stanford forward Lindsay Taylor was named Freshman of the Year and head coach Paul Ratcliffe was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, as Commissioner Tom Hansen announced the Women's Soccer All-Conference honors today.

The Cardinal nearly swept the conference awards, but UCLA's Christina DiMartino was named the conference's player of the year. This is the second year in a row that Stanford has produced the league's Freshman of the Year.

Also, three Cardinal players were selected to the All-Pac-10 first team, four were chosen to the second team, and three were designated on the All-Freshman Team.

PAc-10 Freshman of the Year -- Lindsay Taylor
Taylor, a 5-7 forward from Los Altos, Calif., is the fourth Stanford player, all-time, to earn Freshman of the Year honors. Taylor, starting in all 19 games she played this season, leads the Conference in five major categories. Tied with fellow teammate Christen Press in total points, Taylor recorded 35 points on the season for a Pac-10 best 1.84 points per game. She also leads the Conference in goals (16), goals per game (0.84) and game-winning goals (7).

'I'm very proud of Lindsay,' said Stanford head coach Paul Ratcliffe. 'She had a fantastic freshman season. Scoring 16 goals as a freshman is an extraordinary accomplishment. I can't say enough about Lindsay.'

Taylor had little trouble finding the back of the net this season, registering four multi-goal games, including a blistering three-goal performance against Santa Clara.

'She is a great team player, as well. She really helped our team emerge as one of the top teams in the country,' remarked Ratcliffe.

Pac-10 Coach of the Year -- Paul Ratcliffe
Earning one of the nation's four No. 1 seeds in the NCAA Tournament, Paul Ratcliffe was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. In 2008, Stanford proved to be one of the biggest offensive threats in the nation, outscoring its opponents 62-7 throughout the season.

On Oct. 24, Ratcliffe became the programs most winning coach, surpassing Berhane Andeberhan's 77 victories in his sixth year at the helm of the Cardinal program. Ratcliffe has accumulated a 81-32-19 record and has piloted Stanford to an NCAA Tournament appearance each year he has been in charge, capped off by two consecutive Sweet Sixteen appearances in 2006 and 2007.

'[Being named Coach of the Year is] a great honor and I'm proud of that accomplishment,' said Ratcliffe. 'Obviously the coaches in the Pac-10 are all fantastic coaches. It is a huge honor and I'm very humbled by it.'

Stanford finished the regular season 18-1-1, only losing a close contest with UCLA and tying up North Carolina at home, both fellow No. 1 seeds in the tournament. Ratcliffe's players rank in the top of the Pac-10 in almost every single category this season. Stanford players mark the top-three spots in points and points per game, and the top-two spots in goals and goals per game.

Pac-10 All-Conference Awards
First Team
Marisa Abegg*, D, Sr., Stanford
Lauren Cheney**, F, Jr., UCLA
Christina DiMartino**, MF, Sr., UCLA
Erin Hardy*, D, Sr., UCLA
Liz Harkin, D, Jr., Arizona State
Alex Morgan, F, So., California
Ashley Nick*, MF, Sr., USC
Teresa Noyola, MF, Fr., Stanford
Amy Rodriguez*, F, Sr., USC
Lindsay Taylor, F, Fr., Stanford
Ashley Thompson, GK, Sr., UCLA
*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree **three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

Kiersten Dallstream, F, Jr., Washington State
Allison Falk, D, Sr., Stanford
Megan Jesolva, D, So., California
Nkechi Kanu, D, Sr., California
Camille Levin, MF, Fr., Stanford
Kelley O'Hara, F, Jr., Stanford
Lindsay Parlee, GK, So., Washington State
Veronica Perez, F, Jr., Washington
Christen Press, F, So., Stanford
Ashli Sandoval, MF, So., USC
Lauren Wilmoth, D, Jr., UCLA
Kylie Wright, MF, So., UCLA

Rachael Axon (OSU, Jr., MF); Renae Cuellar (ARIZ, Fr., F); Kate Deines (Washington, Fr., MF); Carly Dobratz (WSU, Jr., MF); Ali Fenter (WSU, Fr., D); Katie Oakes (CAL, Jr., MF); Jen Stoltenberg (ORE, So., F); Elysse Van Leer (WSU, Jr., F); Karin Volpe (ASU, So., F); McCall Zerboni (UCLA, Sr., MF).

Danielle Brunache, D, California
Renae Cuellar, F, Arizona
Kate Deines, MF, Washington
Ali Fenter, D, Washington State
Brittany Kerridge, MF, USC
Sydney Leroux, F, UCLA
Camille Levin, MF, Stanford
Cody Miles, GK, Oregon
Teresa Noyola, MF, Stanford
Katie Sheppard, D, Arizona State
Lindsay Taylor, F, Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder