UCLA's DiMartino Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

Nov. 13, 2008

LOS ANGELES - Led by Pac-10 Player of the Year Christina DiMartino, the UCLA women's soccer team had a total of eight players recognized by the conference on Thursday for their efforts during the 2008 season. The Bruins had more first-team selections (4) than any other school in the Pac-10.

DiMartino, a senior midfielder from Massapequa, N.Y., has played in 91 games in her four-year career, helping the Bruins claim the Pac-10 title in each of her four seasons. One of her highlights this season was scoring the game-winning goal against No. 2 Stanford, leading the Bruins to an eventual 1-0 victory. That win put UCLA in sole possession of first place in the Pac-10 with just three matches remaining. Although she only ranks fourth on the team in scoring with 16 points (5g, 6a), she is the Bruins' top playmaker, involved in nearly every one of UCLA's scoring opportunities.

'I am extremely proud of Tina for achieving this award,' said UCLA head coach Jillian Ellis. 'It is rare that a midfielder gets recognized in this way, and I believe it's a testament to Tina's ability and significance on this team. I am thrilled that my peers were able to recognize that and vote her this year's Pac-10 Player of the Year.'

DiMartino currently ranks second at UCLA in career assists (30), and 10th in career scoring (72 points). She is UCLA's fifth Pac-10 Player of the Year, joining Traci Arkenberg (1997), Tracey Milburn (2000), Nandi Pryce (2003) and Lauren Cheney (2007).

Joining DiMartino on the first team were Cheney (F), Erin Hardy (D) and Ashley Thompson (GK). Lauren Wilmoth (D) and Kylie Wright (MF) were named to the second team, while McCall Zerboni (MF) was an honorable mention selection. Newcomer Sydney Leroux (F) was named to the All-Freshman Team.

Player of the Year - Christina DiMartino, UCLA
Coach of the Year - Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford
Freshman of the Year - Lindsay Taylor, Stanford

First Team
Marisa Abegg* - D - Sr.- Stanford
Lauren Cheney** - F - Jr. - UCLA
Christina DiMartino** - MF - Sr. - UCLA
Erin Hardy* - D - Sr. - UCLA
Liz Harkin - D - Jr. - Arizona State
Alex Morgan - F - So. - California
Ashley Nick* - MF - Sr. - USC
Teresa Noyola - MF - Fr. - Stanford
Amy Rodriguez* - F - Sr. - USC
Lindsay Taylor - F - Fr. - Stanford
Ashley Thompson - GK - Sr. - UCLA

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree **three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

Kiersten Dallstream - F - Jr. - Washington State
Allison Falk - D - Sr. - Stanford
Megan Jesolva - D - So. - California
Nkechi Kanu - D - Sr. - California
Camille Levin - MF - Fr. - Stanford
Kelley O'Hara - F - Jr. - Stanford
Lindsay Parlee - GK - So. - Washington State
Veronica Perez - F - Jr. - Washington
Christen Press - F - So. - Stanford
Ashli Sandoval - MF - So. - USC
Lauren Wilmoth - D - Jr. - UCLA
Kylie Wright - MF - So. - UCLA

Honorable Mention
Rachael Axon (OSU, Jr., MF); Renae Cuellar (ARIZ, Fr., F); Kate Deines (Washington, Fr., MF); Carly Dobratz (WSU, Jr., MF); Ali Fenter (WSU, Fr., D); Katie Oakes (CAL, Jr., MF); Jen Stoltenberg (ORE, So., F); Elysse Van Leer (WSU, Jr., F); Karin Volpe (ASU, So., F); McCall Zerboni (UCLA, Sr., MF).

All-Freshman Team
Danielle Brunache - D - California
Renae Cuellar - F - Arizona
Kate Deines - MF - Washington
Ali Fenter - D - Washington State
Brittany Kerridge - MF - USC
Sydney Leroux - F - UCLA
Camille Levin - MF - Stanford
Cody Miles - GK - Oregon
Teresa Noyola - MF - Stanford
Katie Sheppard - D - Arizona State
Lindsay Taylor - F - Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder