No. 17 ASU Women's Basketball Opens Season Tonight

Nov. 14, 2008

The No. 17/18 Arizona State women’s basketball team opens its season tonight (6 p.m. MT) when it squares off against Cleveland State in the first round of the 2008 Preseason WNIT.

The Preseason WNIT field includes eight teams that competed in the NCAA Tournament last season. In addition to ASU and Cleveland State, other teams from the WNIT field that participated in the NCAA Tournament in 2008 include Illinois State, Liberty, Oklahoma, Robert Morris, and Xavier.

Oklahoma (No. 4 Associated Press) and North Carolina (No. 6) are the top-ranked teams in the field. Other ranked teams include the No. 17 Sun Devils and No. 22 Xavier.

The winner of Friday night’s game between ASU and Cleveland State will play the winner of the contest between Illinois State and Tulane being played in New Orleans on Friday. If the Sun Devils prevail against Cleveland State they would host the second round game against ISU or Tulane on Sunday at 2 p.m. in Wells Fargo Arena.

Ticket Information

Tickets for Friday night’s season opener are still available and can be purchased at the window or by calling 480-727-0000. Tickets prices are as follows: Floor Reserved $20; Adult Reserved $10; Adult General Admission $7; Faculty/Staff General Admission $5; Junior/Senior General Admission $5 Group General Admission (15 or more) $3.

January Selected for Preseason All-Pac-10 Team

ASU senior guard Briann January was one of five players selected for the Pac-10’s Preseason All-Conference Team. The team was chosen by media who cover Pac-10 women’s basketball. January, the 2008 Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, was the only guard selected to the team. Other members included (junior F/C) Jayne Appel and (sophomore F) Kayla Pedersen of Stanford and (senior F/C) Devanei Hampton and (senior F) Ashley Walker of Cal.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder