Cox, John Tabbed To All-Pac-10 First-Team

Nov. 19, 2008

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington seniors Raphael Cox and George John were named to the All-Pac-10 first-team, headlining the group of seven Huskies selected to the all-conference team, the Pac-10 Conference office announced Wednesday.

In addition to Cox and John's first-team selections, sophomore defender Taylor Mueller was tabbed to the All-Pac-10 second-team. Junior defenders Casey Cunningham and Taylor Hoss, as well as junior midfielder Jo Jo Katz and freshman forward Brent Richards earned honorable mention acclaim.

John, a 6-4 midfielder from Shoreline, Wash., earned his second-straight first-team nod and third-overall after a second-team honor as a sophomore. A two-year team captain and a preseason candidate for the 2008 Hermann Trophy, John recorded two goals, one assist and five points for the Huskies before suffering a knee injury on Oct. 19 that kept him off the pitch for UW's last five games.

Cox, a 5-7 midfielder from Tacoma, Wash., finished the regular season leading the Pac-10 in points per game (1.18) and was fifth in overall points (20). He tallied career-highs in goals (seven) and points (20) in his final season, while also dishing six assists. Cox garnered his second All-Pac-10 honor, but first first-team nod after a second-team selection last season.

Mueller, a 6-2 defender from Sammamish, Wash., helped anchor the Husky defense this year, earning his first career All-Pac-10 honor. He scored one goal and led UW to three shutouts on the year.

Cunningham and Katz all earned their second-career All-Pac-10 honors. Cunningham was also an honorable mention selection last year, while Katz earned honorable mention acclaim as a sophomore in 2006. It is the first career honor for Hoss and Richards. As a freshman, Richards led the conference in shots (71) and tied for second in goals (8).

UCLA midfielder Michael Stephens was named the 2008 Pac-10 Player of the Year, Oregon State forward Danny Mwanga was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year and UCLA's Jorge Salcedo was tabbed Pac-10 Coach of the Year.


Name Pos. Yr. School
Raphael Cox MF Sr. WASH
Stefan Frei* GK Jr. CAL
Maxwell Griffin F Sr. UCLA
Hector Jimenez MF So. CAL
George John* MF Sr. WASH
Jason Leopoldo* MF Sr. UCLA
Brad Rusin D Sr. UCLA
Michael Stephens MF Jr. UCLA
Michael Strickland MF Jr. STAN
Bobby Warshaw MF/F So. STAN
Andrew Wiedeman F So. CAL

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree

Name Pos. Yr. School

Tyler Barry D Sr. CAL
Nick Cardenas D Jr. SDSU
Servando Carrasco MF So. CAL
Ryan Imamura D Sr. STAN
Daniel Leach D Sr. OSU
Taylor Mueller D So. WASH
Danny Mwanga F Fr. OSU
Brian Perk GK Jr. UCLA
A.J. Soares D So. CAL
Evan Toft MF Jr. SDSU
Jamel Wallace D/MF Jr. SDSU

HONORABLE MENTION (received votes):
Ryan Callahan (Sr., MF, OSU); Robby Christner (Sr., F, OSU); Casey Cunningham (Jr., D, WASH); Khadim Diouf (So., F, SDSU); David Estrada (Jr., F, UCLA); Garrett Gunther (So., MF, STAN); Taylor Hoss (Jr., D, WASH); Tim Jones (Sr., D, STAN); Jo Jo Katz (Jr., MF, WASH); Pat Marion (Sr., MF, CAL); Matt McManus (Jr., D/F, SDSU); Mike Miller (Jr., GK, OSU); John Moore (Jr., GK, STAN); Davis Paul (So., F, CAL); Raymundo Reza (So., MF, SDSU); Brent Richards (Fr., F, WASH); Andy Rose (Fr., D/MF, UCLA); Dennis Sanchez (Sr., D, SDSU); Danny Suits (Jr., D/MF, UCLA); Ryan Thomas (So., D/MF, STAN); Jacob Wilson (Jr., F, CAL).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder