Gronkowski National TE of the Week

Nov. 19, 2008

MANHASSET, N.Y.—Sophomore Rob Gronkowski of Arizona was named John Mackey Tight End of the Week by the Nassau County Sports Commission for his performance at Oregon last Saturday.

The Pac-10 Conference sophomore had his best game of the season recording 12 receptions for 143 yards and a touchdown as Arizona’s comeback bid fell short in Eugene, 55-45.

The game pushed his season totals to 34 receptions, 500 yards and eight touchdowns, giving him a number of Arizona records – single-game tight end catches and receiving yards for a tight end, single-season receptions for a tight end, single-season yards for a tight end, career receptions (62) and yards (1,025), and career touchdowns (14) for a Wildcat tight end.

Mark Hafner of Houston was also in consideration for the weekly honor this week, Gronkowski’s second honor this season. He was cited after his three-touchdown game off five catches for 109 yards against Washington Oct. 4.

Earlier this week the Sports Commission announced its eight finalists for the Mackey Award and Gronkowski was not on the list. His missed three games to start the season due to an illness likely were a factor. The Tight End of the Week is an honor distinct and different from the annual John Mackey Award. The weekly honor was started in 2004 to draw attention to individual play by tight ends during the active season. The Tight End of the Week acknowledgment does not have a direct bearing on the final John Mackey Award selection process.

The Nassau County Sports Commission, a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization created to enhance quality of life of Nassau County residents through sports, is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The 2008 recipient of “The Mackey” will be announced at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show live December 11, 2008 on ESPN and presented at the Nassau County Sports Commission Annual Awards Dinner on April 27, 2009.

2008 John Mackey Tight End of the Week Recipients Week 1: Dennis Pitta — BYU Week 2: Jermaine Gresham — Oklahoma Week 3: Mark Hafner — University of Houston Week 4: Chase Coffman — University of Missouri Week 5: Bear Pascoe — Fresno State University Week 6: Rob Gronkowski — University of Arizona Week 7: Branden Ledbetter — Western Michigan University Week 8: John Phillips — University of Virginia Week 9: Kory Sperry — Colorado State University Week 10: Dennis Pitta — BYU Week 11: Mark Hafner — University of Houston Week 12: Rob Gronkowski — University of Arizona

Past John Mackey Award Recipients 2007: Fred Davis — USC 2006: Matt Spaeth — University of Minnesota 2005: Marcedes Lewis — UCLA 2004: Heath Miller — University of Virginia 2003: Kellen Winslow II — University of Miami 2002: Dallas Clark — University of Iowa 2001: Daniel Graham — University of Colorado 2000: Tim Stratton — Purdue University

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder