USTFCCCA Names NCAA Division I Men's and Women's West Region Cross Country Athletes and Coaches of the Year

Nov. 20, 2008


Men's athlete: Galen Rupp, University of Oregon
Rupp was brilliant at the West Regional, clocking a sizzling 27:42 for 10,000 meters to win by 51 seconds. The senior from Portland also won the Pacific-10 Conference title and is looking to move up a spot from his second-place finish at last year's NCAA Cross Country Championships.

Men's coach: Vin Lananna, University of Oregon
Lananna's Ducks are ranked No. 1 in the country on the eve of their NCAA title defense. Oregon won this year's Pacific-10 Conference and West Region titles by comfortable margins. Prior to becoming Oregon's head coach in 2005, Lananna won three NCAA men's cross country championships at Stanford.

Women's Athlete: Alex Kosinski, University of Oregon
Kosinski became Oregon's first female regional champion in 14 years with her 19:59.01 victory over 6,000 meters at Stanford University. The top freshman finisher (13th) at last year's NCAA Cross Country Championships, she also won this fall's Bill Dellinger Invitational and placed 11th at the Pacific-10 Conference meet. Kosinksi is a sophomore from El Dorado Hills, Ca.

Women's Coach: Greg Metcalf, University of Washington
The top-ranked Huskies took the first six places in scoring a perfect 15 points to win at the Pacific-10 Conference Championships. Washington was almost as dominant at the West Regional, scoring 25 points even though Metcalf rested his Pac-10 champion, freshman Kendra Schaaf. The Huskies have reached the NCAA Championships in 10 of Metcalf's 12 seasons as head coach.

NCAA Championships

The top-ranked Oregon Ducks will look to defend their men's title at the NCAA Championships on Monday, Nov. 24 in Terre Haute, Ind., while the top-ranked Washington Huskies will look to capture their first NCAA women's cross country title. Pac-10 teams joining Oregon in the men's championships are California, Stanford, UCLA and Washington. Pac-10 teams joining Washington in the women's championships are Arizona State, Oregon and Stanford. The Championships will be aired live from 12 noon to 1:30 p.m. EST/9 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. PST on CBS College Sports and will also be webcast live on

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder