Nine Cardinal Players Earn Pac-10 Academic Honors

Nov. 25, 2008

Stanford, Calif. - Led by second-team selections Joanna Evans and Janet Okogbaa, nine Cardinal women's volleyball players were honored today when the Pac-10 announced its annual academic awards.

Evans and Okogbaa, both juniors, were listed among the top 14 players in the conference with spots on the second team. Seven additional players, including all four Cardinal seniors, earned honorable mention.

Seniors Cynthia Barboza and Erin Waller were recognized for the third straight year, the 13th and 14th players in school history to be honored all three years of eligibility. Fellow seniors Jessica Fishburn and Foluke Akinradewo were honored for the second time in their careers.

Sophomores Gabi Ailes, Alix Klineman and Cassidy Lichtman were also recognized, each for the first time in her career.

To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder