UCLA'S Kantola and California's Pollard Named 2008 'LIVING THE DREAM' Scholarship Winners

Nov. 25, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader


WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - UCLA's Ingrid Kantola and CALIFORNIA'S Justin Pollard are the 2008 recipients of the Pac-10 Conference's 'Living the Dream' Scholarship, presented by World Financial Group, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced today.

The Pacific-10 Conference and Pac-10 Properties established the 'Living the Dream Scholarship, presented by World Financial Group' to recognize student-athletes who have served on their institutional Student-Athlete Advisory Committees (SAAC) and demonstrated leadership. The Pac-10 Leadership Award is a $5,000 scholarship for postgraduate study awarded to one male and one female student-athlete each year.

Kantola, a native of Los Angeles, was a member of the Bruins' track & field teams every year, captaining the squad as a senior. She was a Pac-10 Champion in 2008, earning All-American honors during the 2007 indoor and the 2007 outdoor campaigns. Kantola has garnered the Team Bench and Florence Joyner Award in 2007. A two-time Pac-10 All-Academic Honorable Mention selection, she has been named to the Athletic Directors Honor Roll in 2005, 2007 and 2008. Kantola is a sports management major with a 3.22 GPA and expected to graduate in July 2009.

Kantola served on the Bruin Athletic Council for four years, organizing community events such as the fall clothing drive in 2008, while volunteering for the Marathon Kids Day, Mattel Children's Hospital's holiday parties and the University Elementary School Jog-A-Thon, where she was also asked to speak at the event. Under her leadership, the Bruins hosted Special Olympians at a UCLA volleyball game. She was a member of UCLA's Ambassador Program and a Wooden Academy participant. 

Pollard, a native of San Jose, Calif., is a four-year member of Cal's swimming team, and was a co-captain as a senior. He competed at the 2008 Olympic and 2006 Summer World Championships trials. In 2007, he earned the Golden Bear Award for the most improve team member and helped Cal place fourth at the NCAA Championships twice, second in the Pac-10 Swimming and Diving Championships every year. A three-time Pac-10 All-Academic first team honoree, he was the recipient of the Neufeld Scholar-Athlete Award, given to the graduating male and female student-athlete with the highest cumulative averages. Pollard is an economics major with a 3.93 GPA and is expected to graduate in May 2009.

Pollard's leadership activities included serving as Pac-10 SAAC Co-Chair in 2007-08 and is currently the Pac-10 representative to the NCAA's SAAC. He has received Cal's Walter A. Haas, Jr. Community Service Award in 2008, organizing and participating in various outreach events, including College Sports Day (event for local youth to interact with Cal athletes to promote college education and a healthy lifestyle), Special Olympics of Northern California, serving as a referee, and helped clean transitional housing in San Francisco.

The Leadership Award winner is selected by the Pac-10 Conference SAAC, which is composed of representatives from each member institution, each year from nominations submitted by each campus SAAC. To be eligible, nominees must have completed their athletics eligibility, be enrolled or plan to attend graduate school, have been a letterwinner in a varsity sport and have served a minimum one year on the campus SAAC. The winners will be recognized at the Pacific Life/Pac-10 Men's Basketball Tournament in March.

Also nominated for the award were Shannon Hobson (basketball) and Lou Maturo (cross country) of ARIZONA; Rebecca Yau (cross country/track & field) of CALIFORNIA; Oregon's Joanna Gail (softball) and Joey Lucas (wrestling); Oregon State's Felicia Casteneda (swimming) and Justin Wagner (rowing); Stanford's Laura Shane (lacrosse) and Eli Alcaraz (gymnastics); USC's Lindsay Oman (track & field); Washington's Jennifer Chang (gymnastics); and Washington State's Danielle Berish (swimming).

Previous winners include Walter Chung (CAL) and Cicely Clinkenbeard (WSU) in 2001-02; Janell Bergstrom (ORE) and Adam Chivara (ASU) in 2002-03; Nikki Neuberger (OSU) and Jason Ranne (ARIZ) in 2003-04; Molly Seaman (WASH) and Emerson Ward (ASU) in 2004-05; Darrell Brooks (ARIZ) and Anna Chappel (ARIZ) in 2005-06; Caleb Kirk (CAL) and Whitney Meyers (ARIZ) in 2006-07.

- www.pac-10.org -


PAC-10 CONFERENCE: Named Ingrid Cantola of UCLA and Justin Pollard of California winners of the 2007-08 'Living the Dream' Scholarship, presented by World Financial Group.



Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network