Eleven Sun Devil Harriers Garner Academic Honors from the Pac-10

Nov. 26, 2008

TEMPE, Ariz. – The Pacifiic-10 Conference announced its selections for the 2008 Academic All-Pac-10 Cross Country teams with 11 members of the Arizona State University cross country program garnering honors. Seven men and four women garnered the award that is handed out each year to second-year or later student-athletes that have maintained a 3.00 GPA or better while competing in more than half of their team’s competitions.

Redshirt freshman Thomas Petersen led the way for ASU as he earned a place on the Academic All-Pac-10 First Team list. He is the seventh male in the program’s history to garner the first team accolade and extends the program’s streak to six years in a row with at least one male Sun Devil earning first team honors. The women did not have a first team selection this year.

Two men and one woman earned second team honors, including Ben Engelhardt and Daniel Lovell for the men and Ali Kielty for the women. Kielty earned her third career academic honor from the Pac-10 after being selected to the second team last year and to the honorable mention list in 2006. Engelhardt is appearing on his second list after earning first team honors in 2007 while Lovell earned his first honor.

The honorable mention lists included four ASU men and three women with only three of those student-athletes earning their first career honors and two others being selected to an academic team for the fourth time. David Mehlhorn and Jenna Kingma each were placed on their fourth academic team with Mehlhorn earning his fourth-consecutive honorable mention award while Kingma earned her third honorable mention selection (2003, 2007, 2008) to go along with the second-team honors she earned in 2006.

Collin Eckelman was selected to the honorable mention team for the second year in a row for the men while Angela Spadafino earned her first selection to the list after earning second-team accolades in 2007. The first-time recipients for the Sun Devils included Michael Anderson and Jordan Hall for the men and women’s team member Maureen Stringham.

2008 Academic All-Pac-10 Cross Country
1st Team
- Thomas Petersen
2nd Team - Ben Engelhardt, Daniel Lovell
HM Team - Michael Anderson, Collin Eckelman, Jordan Hall, David Mehlhorn

1st Team
- none
2nd Team - Ali Kielty
HM Team - Jenna Kingma, Angela Spadafino, Maureen Stringham

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network