Swimming Teams in Fifth at Texas Invitational

Dec. 5, 2008

The Arizona State swimming teams continued their success at the Texas Invitational. Both the men and the women are in fifth after day two. The men have 65 pints while the women totaled 213.

The women's 200 medley relay team of Sasha Stephens, Sara McDaniel, Ashton Aubry and Jen Beckberger clocked in an NCAA consolation time of 1:40.84. This time puts them at fourth on ASU's all-time list.

In the 400 IM, Jamie Martinez moved herself up on ASU's all-time list with a time of 3:19.89. The time puts her at ninth all-time and placed her 13th overall. Penelope Yamauchi clocked in a personal best time of 4:21.70 in the preliminaries to place 16th overall. On the men's side, Luke Herlehy placed 10th overall with a time of 4:00.47.

The Sun Devils also performed well in the 200 free. Jen Beckberger took fifth with an NCAA consideration time of 1:47.00. Samantha Caldwell placed second in the 'D' final with a time of 1:49.98. Vinicius Waked and Sean Boyle both earned NCAA consideration times in the 200 free. Waked placed eighth in the championship final with a time of 1:36.57 after earning a personal best of 1:36.34. Boyle won the 'B' final, shattering his previous personal best time with a time of 1:35. 91. The time puts him at sixth on ASU's all-time list. Adrian Kirkpatrick placed 19th overall in 1:38.68.

Freshman Jordyn Green had a breakout day in the 100 breast for the Sun Devils. The Reno, Nev., native is now third on ASU's all-time list with an NCAA consideration time of 1:01.83 to place seventh overall. McDaniel earned a time of 1:03.30 to place 12th overall while Ilene Lesch clocked in a time of 1:03.86.

Native Texan Stephens earned an NCAA consideration time of 54.70 in the preliminaries and finished eighth overall in the finals. Martinez clocked in a time of 55.26 after earning a personal best 55.22 in the preliminaries. On the men's side, Max Laney placed 21st overall with a time of 50.85. Alex Hier won the 'D' final, coming in at 51.84.

The Texas Invitational concludes tomorrow.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.