Track & Field Intrasquad Meet Nets Black Squad Win

Dec. 5, 2008

PULLMAN, Wash. - The Washington State University track and field teams held their annual December Intrasquad meet Thursday afternoon, December 4, in the Indoor Facility on the Pullman campus. The Black squad squeaked out the winning team score, defeating the White squad 98 to 97. The Cougar coaches declared senior Lorraine King, the 2009 women's team captain, the Most Valuable Athlete of the Meet after her first place and third place finishes in the hurdles (60m hurdles - 8.49h, and 300m hurdles - 39.3h).

The abbreviated meet schedule included shorter races than usual and restricted field event attempts with shorter runs on jumps and fewer turns on throws. The amount of rivalry between the two squads was not lacking, with some team members arriving for the meet in sartorial splendor.

Notable winners for the Cougars included returning All-American high jumper Trent Arrivey (6-8 3/4), who bettered Ryan Deese in a jump-off, and All-American 800m runner Anna Layman who won the women's 600m race (1:36). Moreno Zapata, the 2009 men's team captain, won the men's triple jump (47-10).

The upset of the day was in the men's 20m dash - yes, that's right, the 20-meter dash - where sophomore Marlon Murray, running for the Black squad, edged out seniors Rob Williams and Justin Woods (White squad) and proceeded to run down the track only to rip off his shirt and thump his chest in victory. Woods, who finished fourth behind André Jennings, later commented that his spikes caught in the turf coming out of the blocks but Murray would accept no excuses. Due to the brevity of the race, no times were available.

Williams did come back to win the men's 60m hurdles with Barry Leavitt in second place by a narrow margin. Caroline Hedel took the second heat of the women's 300m hurdles and heptathlete Angela Jensen finished second to King in the women's 60m hurdles. Reny Follett won the men's 600m race (1:22.8) with Leavitt second.

Inside the oval, the pole vault results show Kendall Mays and Alexa Huestis nearly back at top form from last spring as both cleared 12-1 1/2. Men's vaulters Jake Bartlein and Trevor Sodorff cleared 13-7. Women high jumpers Amanda Stewart, Maria Creech and Courtney Kirkwood finished in a tie at 5-3.

Candace Missouri took first in the women's long jump with a short-run approach that netted an 18-6 leap.

Throws for the men were brief with only a decathlete shot put event where Sean Harris tossed the shot 40- 1/4, and graduated multi specialist, Ricky Moody, tossed a distance of 46-7 1/2. Kyle Schauble, who has just resumed training after foot surgery, had a standing throw that impressed Cougar Head Coach Rick Sloan.

Newcomer Anna Albrecht won the women's shot with a toss of 43-5 while fellow freshman Ashley Kenney won the women's weight throw with a one-turn toss more than 47-feet.

The Cougar indoor season begins January 23-24, 2009, with the WSU Indoor Open held at the WSU Indoor Facility.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder