Mack, Best, Follett Share Team MVP Honors

Dec. 7, 2008

BERKELEY - Alex Mack, Jahvid Best and Zack Follett - all key elements to California's 8-4 campaign this fall - received Most Valuable Player honors at the Golden Bears' team banquet Sunday night.

Mack, a senior All-America center who was named the Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for football last week, also picked up the Schlessinger Coaches Award (for athletics, academics and community service), the Brick Muller Award (most valuable lineman) and the Cort Majors Award (team captain).

Best ended the regular season with 1,394 rushing yards - the fourth-highest total in school history. He was also named the most valuable offensive player in the Big Game after finishing with 201 yards on the ground against the Cardinal and the most valuable offensive back for his full-season performance.

Cal's leader in both tackles for loss (19.0) and quarterback sacks (8.5), Follett added the most outstanding defensive player in the Big Game honor, as well as the Cort Majors Award.

The Bears wrapped up the 2008 regular season with a 48-7 victory over Washington Saturday and will next play Miami in the Emerald Bowl Dec. 27 at AT&T Park in San Francisco. The trip marks Cal's sixth straight appearance in a bowl game - a school record.

2008 Cal Football Team Awards

Ken Harvey Award - player showing special academic commitment and improvement
Bernard Hicks

Everett Merriman Award - player demonstrating a commitment to community service
Sean Young

Dink Artal Award - player best exemplifying Cal spirit
Devin Bishop

Most Improved Player
Worrell Williams

Ken Cotton Award - most courageous player
Defense: Anthony Felder
Offense: Nate Longshore

Lifter of the Year
Freshman: Dominic Galas
Senior: Anthony Felder

Student Athletic Trainer of the Year
Samantha Lee

Student Manager of the Year
Bryan Bucci

Scout Team Players of the Year
Offense: Beau Sweeney & Spencer Ladner
Defense: Aaron Tipoti & Nick Rosato
Special Teams: Charles Satchell

Schlessinger Coaches Award - for outstanding athletic ability, academic success and community service
Alex Mack

Bob Tessier Award - most improved offensive and defensive linemen
Offense: Mitchell Schwartz
Defense: Rulon Davis

Brick Muller Award - most valuable offensive and defensive linemen
Offense: Alex Mack
Defense: Tyson Alualu

Bob Simmons Award - most valuable freshman
Bryan Anger

J. Scott Duncan Award - most valuable special teams player
Mike Mohamed

Pappy Waldorf Cal Coaches Award
Tad Smith

Andy Smith Award - player with the most Big C playing time
Syd'Quan Thompson

Berkeley Breakfast Club Award - outstanding player in the Big Game
Offense: Jahvid Best
Defense: Zack Follett

Most Valuable Back
Offense: Jahvid Best
Defense: Syd'Quan Thompson

Joe Roth Award
Will Ta'ufo'ou

Cort Majors Award - team captains
Offense: Alex Mack
Defense: Zack Follett

Bear Backers Award - most valuable player as voted by team
Offense: Alex Mack & Jahvid Best
Defense: Zack Follett

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder

Before you proceed please complete the captcha below.