Toby Gerhart Named Team MVP at Annual Football Awards Banquet

Dec. 7, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - Running back Toby Gerhart, who broke Stanford's single-season rushing record this season, was presented with the Irving S. Zeimer Memorial Award honoring the team's most valuable player at the annual football awards banquet held Saturday night at Burnham Pavilion on the Stanford campus.

Gerhart finished the 2008 season with a school-record 1,136 yards on the ground, becoming the first Stanford player to rush for more than 1,000 yards since Tommy Vardell in 1991. The Norco, Calif. native went over the 100-yard mark in eight games during the course of the 2008 season, including a career-best 148-yard effort in the fourth game of the year against San Jose State. He also rushed for 15 touchdowns on the year, which was the second-highest single-season total in school history.

Gerhart also received the Frank Rehm Award as the most outstanding back in the Big Game and was the recipient of the Gundelach Award as the team's most outstanding junior player.

Special teams coordinator and defensive ends coach D.J. Durkin was presented with the Bill Walsh Assistant Coach of the Year Award, which recognizes a member of the coaching staff who demonstrates a special dedication to the coaching profession through his work ethic, attitude and productivity.

Head trainer Steve Bartlinski was the recipient of the Stanford Football Man of the Year Award, which recognizes a member of the program who has 'contributed to the overall greatness of Stanford football.'

Senior center Alex Fletcher was named the recipient of the Al Masters Award, honoring the player displaying the highest degree of leadership and respect of his teammates. Fletcher, who served as a co-captain for the Cardinal, anchored an offensive line that helped pave the way for the second-most productive rushing attack in school history. Stanford's 2,395 yards gained on the ground this season ranked second only to the 1949 squad that rushed for a school-record 2,481 yards.

Senior Ben Muth, another stalwart on the Cardinal's offensive line, was named the recipient of the Jim Reynolds Award, presented to the player whose courage on the field and devotion to the game are an inspiration to all. The senior from Phoenix, Ariz. started all 12 games at left tackle, including the last four contests following the unexpected loss of his father.

Senior linebacker Pat Maynor earned the Jack Huston Award, awarded to the player exemplifying aggressiveness, exceptional performance and unheralded efforts. Maynor, who was nominated for the prestigious Butkus Award, finished second on the team in total tackles with 69 and led the defense in tackles-for-loss.

Senior tight end Austin Gunder earned The Vardell Award for excellence in both academics and athletics.

Placekicker Aaron Zagory and Thaddeus Chase were named the recipients of the Phil Moffat Awards, presented to the two most outstanding special teams players. Zagory regained the starting placekicker's duties early in fall camp and converted 14 of 17 field goal tries on the season. Chase has been a longtime special teams contributor and played an active role on all four units.

Chase also received the Team Technician Award for his positive attitude and consistent commitment to strength and conditioning.

Senior running back Anthony Kimble and assistant strength and conditioning coach Tom Steiner earned the Blue Collar Awards, awarded to a player and a member of the staff for tremendous work ethic, productivity and 'blue collar' attitude.

Offensive lineman Andrew Phillips earned the Frank Rehm Award, presented to the outstanding lineman in the Big Game.

Quinn Evans, Andrew Luck and James McGillicuddy shared the Greg Piers Award, presented to the most outstanding special teams, offensive and defensive service team players.

Wide receiver Ryan Whalen, who led the team in receptions as a sophomore, was presented with the Big Brother Award, recognizing scholarship, leadership and mentorship.

Defensive end Tom Keiser, who had seven tackles-for-loss among his 24 total tackles, earned the Deswarte-Eller Award honoring the team's most outstanding sophomore.

Delano Howell was presented with the Menlo-Atherton Trophy Award as the team's most outstanding freshman.

Stanford, 5-7 overall and 4-5 in the Pac-10 Conference this season, will open the 2009 season on Sept. 5 at Washington State. Stanford's 2009 schedule also features seven home games, including dates with UCLA (Oct. 3), Oregon (Nov. 7), California (Nov. 21) and Notre Dame (Nov. 28).

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder