Ben Muth Named to First Team All-Pac-10 Squad

Dec. 8, 2008

STANFORD, Calif. - The Pacific-10 Conference announced its year-end awards and all-conference teams today and senior offensive lineman Ben Muth has been named to the conference's first team offensive squad.

Muth started all 12 games at left tackle and helped pave the way for the second-most productive rushing attack in school history. Stanford's 2,395 yards gained on the ground this season ranked second only to the 1949 squad that rushed for a school-record 2,481 yards. Muth is the first Stanford offensive lineman to first team all-conference honors since Kwame Harris in 2002.

Running back Toby Gerhart, center Alex Fletcher and special teams standout Wopamo Osaisai landed spots earned second team all-conference marks.

Six Stanford players earned honorable mention selections, including defensive ends Tom Keiser and Erik Lorig, fullback Owen Marecic, offensive tackle Chris Marinelli, linebacker Pat Maynor and place kicker Aaron Zagory.

Oregon State tailback Jacquizz Rodgers was named both the Pac-10's Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year. Middle linebacker Rey Maualuga of USC was named the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year and Oregon State's Mike Riley was named the conference's coach of the year.

The award winners are selected by the Pac-10 head football coaches.

To view all of the award winners, go to

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder