Muscle Milk California Student-Athlete of the Week


December 8, 2008

BERKELEY - Jahvid Best rushed 19 times for a school-record 311 yards and 4 touchdowns on Saturday to help the Bears beat Washington 48-7, making the sophomore tailback the Muscle Milk California Student-Athlete of the Week.

Best's 311 yards is the fourth-highest in Pac-10 history and the fourth-best effort in the NCAA this year. The NCAA single-game rushing record for the Bowl Subdivision (aka D-IA) is 406 yards by LaDainian Tomlinson for TCU. Best is the only player in Cal history to have three games of 200 yards rushing or more. Earlier this season, he rushed for 200 yards against Washington State and 201 yards against Stanford. His four touchdowns on Saturday tied the Cal modern-day record.

Best has now rushed for 1,394 yards on the season, which is the fourth highest season total in Cal history. He is only 66 yards behind Chuck Muncie, who rushed for 1,460 yards in 1975, for number three on the list, and still has one game left-the Emerald Bowl on Dec. 27 against the Miami Hurricanes. Best also has 13 rushing touchdowns on the season, which ties him for fifth in school history with Chuck Muncie and Adimchinobe Echemandu, and is only two shy of the record of 15 set by J.J. Arrington in 2004 and Justin Forsett in 2007. His 126.7 yards per game average this season leads the Pac-10 and ranks fifth in the NCAA.

For his efforts on Saturday, Best was also named the Pac-10 Offensive player of the week for the third time this season.

Muscle Milk California Student-Athletes of the Week

Date Winner Sport
December 8 Jahvid Best Football
December 1 Ashley Walker Women's Basketball
November 24 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
November 17 Brian Dudley Men's Water Polo
November 10 Jana Juricova Women's Tennis
November 3 Nathan Adrian Men's Swimming
October 27 Michael Mohamed Football
October 20 Carli Lloyd Volleyball
October 13 Alex Morgan Women's Soccer
October 6 Marina Cossou Women's Tennis
September 29 Syd'Quan Thompson Football
September 22 Hana Cutura Volleyball
September 15 Andrea Lo Field Hockey
September 8 Jahvid Best Football
September 2 Andrew Wiedeman Men's Soccer

2007-08 Winners

2006-07 Winners

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder