Five Stanford Cross Country Runners Honored By Pac-10

Dec. 10, 2008

  • Complete Pac-10 Release Get Acrobat Reader

    Walnut Creek, Calif. - Five Stanford cross country runners were honored by the Pac-10 by being named to the all-conference teams on Wednesday. Four men and one woman were named to the first and second all-Pac-10 teams as announced by Pac-10 commissioner, Tom Hansen.

    The men were led by a trio of first-team honorees who led Stanford to a second place finish at the Pac-10 Championships. Freshman Chris Derrick, senior Garrett Heath and redshirt freshman Jacob Riley were all honored for their fine seasons. The three Stanford runners joined a trio from Oregon as well as Josef Ghebray of California on the first team.

    Derrick and Heath went on to earn All-America honors at the NCAA Championships and lead Stanford to a third place finish.

    Being honored as second-team all-Pac-10 for Stanford was Hakon DeVries. The Stanford senior finished 13th at the Pac-10 Championships.

    For the women, freshman Laurynne Chetelat was honored as second team all-Pac-10 after finishing 13th at the Pac-10 meet.

    Chetelat led the Cardinal to a third place finish at the Pac-10 Championships and a eighth place finish at the NCAA's.

    Galen Rupp of Oregon and Kendra Schaaf of Washington were honored as the Pac-10 athletes of the year. In addition, Luke Puskedra or Oregon and Christine Babcock of Washington were honored at the Pac-10 newcomers of the year. The Pac-10 coaches of the year were Vin Lananna of Oregon and Greg Metcalf of Washington, both of whom led their teams to Pac-10 and NCAA titles.

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    6:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder