Husky Women Sweep Pac-10 Cross Country Honors

Dec. 11, 2008

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Washington freshman Kendra Schaaf was named the Pac-10 Conference Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year, the conference office announced this week. Head coach Greg Metcalf was named Coach of the Year on the women's side and freshman Christine Babcock won Newcomer of the Year honors.

The national champion Washington women's cross country team dominated every race they ran this season, and thus it came as no surprise that they swept the Pac-10 Conference Cross Country Awards in similar fashion.

The All-Pac-10 teams are a direct reflection of race results from the Pac-10 Championships, where the Huskies swept the top six spots. Washington is therefore rewarded with six of the seven First Team spots, an unprecedented feat. No team in conference history on the men's or women's side had ever swept the top five spots, let alone the top six, yet the Huskies did just that on the home course of second-ranked Oregon, no less.

Washington's First Team honorees are Schaaf and Babcock, seniors Anita Campbell and Amanda Miller, junior Katie Follett, and sophomore Mel Lawrence. Oregon's Lindsey Scherf was the only non-Husky on the First Team. Husky sophomore Lauren Saylor earned Second Team honors.

The All-Pac-10 honor is the third for Campbell. She was a Second Team member as a sophomore, and First Team last season. Follett and Lawrence were both Second Team members in 2007 as well.

Schaaf was the Pac-10 Individual Champion and broke meet and course records with her winning time of 19-minutes, 24-seconds at the Springfield Country Club back on Oct. 31. Schaaf also won the Sundodger Invite and Tiger Invite this year, and led UW to wins at Pre-Nationals and the NCAA Championships, where she placed 12th overall. She is Washington's first Pac-10 Athlete of the Year.

Despite Schaaf being a newcomer herself, the conference coaches decided to reward fellow freshman Babcock as well with the Newcomer of the Year award. Babcock finished third at the Pac-10 Championships and was UW's top finisher at NCAA Regionals and the NCAA Championships where she finished 7th overall. Babcock is UW's second Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year; Tori Tyler won the award in 2005.

Greg Metcalf can add his Pac-10 Coach of the Year award to the National Coach of the Year honor already bestowed upon him by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. He guided the Husky women to their first ever national title. Mike Johnson was UW's last Pac-10 Coach of the Year back in 1992.

Oregon swept the conference awards on the men's side as the Ducks won their second-straight NCAA title this year. Galen Rupp was named Men's Athlete of the Year, Luke Puskedra earned Newcomer of the Year honors, and Vin Lananna took home Coach of the Year.

Washington senior Jeremy Mineau earned a spot on the Second Team with his 10th-place finish at the Pac-10 Championships. Mineau, a First Team selection in 2006, came back from a redshirt year to stand as one of the conference's best runners once again.

2008 Pac-10 Cross Country Honors

First Team
Kendra Schaaf, Fr., Washington
Mel Lawrence, So., Washington
Christine Babcock, Fr., Washington
Anita Campbell, Sr., Washington
Katie Follett, Jr., Washington
Amanda Miller, Sr., Washington
Lindsey Scherf, Sr., Oregon

Second Team
Nicole Blood, Jr., Oregon
Kari Hardt, Jr., Arizona State
Ali Kielty, Jr., Arizona State
Alex Kosinski, So., Oregon
Lauren Saylor, So., Washington
Laurynne Chetelat, Fr., Stanford
Melissa Grelli, Sr., Oregon

Athlete of the Year
Kendra Schaaf, Fr., Washington

Newcomer of the Year
Christine Babcock, Fr., Washington

Coach of the Year
Greg Metcalf, Washington

First Team
Galen Rupp, Sr., Oregon
Luke Puskedra, Fr., Oregon
Chris Derrick, Fr., Stanford
Garrett Heath, Sr., Stanford
Shadrack Kiptoo-Biwott, Sr., Oregon
Yosef Ghebray, Sr., California
Jake Riley, Fr., Stanford

Second Team
Drew Shackleton, Sr., UCLA
Andrew Wheating, So., Oregon
Jeremy Mineau, Sr., Washington
Matthew Centrowitz, So., Oregon
Curtis Suver, Sr., Oregon
Hakon DeVries, Fr., Stanford
Mark Matusak, Sr., California

Athlete of the Year
Galen Rupp, Sr., Oregon

Newcomer of the Year
Luke Puskedra, Fr., Oregon

Coach of the Year
Vin Lananna, Oregon

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder